Skip to content

Cinemalphabet: X is for The X-Files: Fight the Future (1998)

August 8, 2011

Can we talk about Scully’s outfits in this movie? The pencil skirts? The killer pumps? More than anything, The X-Files: Fight the Future was a coming out party for Scully’s fashion sense. Prior to the movie she was clad in a dizzying array of Margaret Thatcher looking pantsuits, which swallowed her petite frame and gave us a respite from the helmet of a bob she was saddled with the first FIVE seasons. The movie changed the game. Scully showed up in some serious suits with sharp lines and a banging bob that only made the gorgeous Gills look even more fabulous. As for Mulder, he looked the same, but sadly no sign of the red speedo.

Being the huge X-files fan (uh remember this bit of geekery) the theater could have sold me a ticket to a blank screen and I would have convinced myself I’d had a good time. I was already sold on the movie and I don’t recall if I was all that invested in unraveling the mysteries posed in the season cliffhanger leading to the film.

Unlike Sex and the City. which didn’t have enough story to fill the big screen (even though I liked both films and loved the series), The X-Files: Fight the Future felt expansive enough to warrant big screen treatment. The story was an interesting hybrid of the monster-of-the-week and also all that mythology stuff I tolerated in order to get a look at that dishy Mulder and dreamy Skinner. What I found most surprising was how movie star-ish both Gills and Duch were, in the sense I didn’t feel as though I was paying cashmoney to watch a television on the big screen. Both leads filled the screen with their presence and actually their chemistry worked more impressively than I thought it would. As a fangirl, I assumed my experience wasn’t objective and I would forgive any number of deficits in this film that I wouldn’t forgive in other films. No such worries. Even if you’re not a fan of the series, the movie is pretty straight forward sci-fi thriller stuff. It’s a peppy film with a plot that zips along, yet still managed to give rabid fans a few thrills. Like this…

Okay, well, maybe it wasn’t like that!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Val permalink
    August 8, 2011 3:15 pm

    Yay…you’re back!

    Never really watched X-Files, so I’ll leave it at that.

  2. IrishUp permalink
    August 13, 2011 6:53 am

    I am a fan of the “improbable coincidences” that move so many SciFi/Fan movies forward, but goddam! that was one *patient* bee. (insert buzz-kill joke here).
    I’d never seen that “The Kiss” outtake, they should have left it in.

Leave a Reply

