Skip to content

The Truth is Out There and Somewhat Embarrassing

January 14, 2011

My rendering of the woods as seen in the pilot.

Loyal readers might remember when I mentioned the X-Files journals I used to keep:

In these journals were some the most egregious acts of X-files geekiness committed to archival quality paper! We’re talking detailed episode guides, episode lists with legends! Character flow charts, hand drawn maps of various locations depicted in the show, list after bloody list of rants/raves and lawd, help me – some slash and poetry.

Well the wait is finally over. Journey beyond the cut tag…if you dare!

The Rating System. The episode rating system was often retooled until I came up with what I believed to be a highly rigorous lens in which to measure the quality of each episode. Looking back it seems any episode devoid of ‘shipper goodness was usually assigned that lovely “pile of crap” rating.

The Drinking Game. Here’s an early draft of a drinking game that never saw the inside of any X-files themed viewing party.

Episode Categories. Now here’s where the black oil meets the eyeball socket! Who has time to sift through all the episodes if the intent is to only watch ‘shipper-sodes or – Xena forbid – mythosodes!

Glossary. Do you know your Talitha Cumi from your Syzygy?

Move over TV Guide. Hey, I didn’t have regular access to IMDB back in the day. Besides where can you get this kind of quality analysis? I drew pacman style ghosts, people!

The Key. Another sorting device that seemed like a good idea at the time.

One more for the road! Enjoy! So spill your acts of fandom geekery!!! I showed you mine; now show me yours!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Lara Emily Foley permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:07 pm

    OMG those are so cool. I wish I had done something like that for any of my numerous fandoms. The closest thing I have is that I once off TV recorded on to VHS tapes every episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer in chronological order (one time I missed an episode somehow and I kept a gap long enough to record the episode in when it aired again, which I eventually did), I litterally filled a medium sized box with Buffy tapes.

  2. January 14, 2011 9:13 pm

    I love the icons! I’d love to use them for a comment-rating system on WordPress.

  3. Lani permalink
    January 14, 2011 10:10 pm

    This entry is the best thing. I was a HUGE X-Files fan back in the day…though, ok, I didn’t keep journals (but now I wish I had). I love the episode categories. Sexy Mulder episodes, yes please!

    As for my fandom geekery, I am a rather dedicated fanfiction writer, sometimes of epic lengths, for various things, usually a video game or TV show. I did write some X-Files fanfiction once upon a time, as well as for Final Fantasy VI, Weiss Kreutz (an anime), and most recently World of Warcraft. I even entered my WoW fanfiction in a contest (and won, heh)!

  4. January 15, 2011 12:50 am

    Thanks everyone! Now I’m curious as to what pen I used during this time. I’m sure I have that information somewhere!

  5. bumerry permalink
    January 15, 2011 1:48 am

    You know this only makes me love you more, Snarks. I loved the episodes of XFiles I managed to sneak into my full time neuropsych/60 hr work week/cybercourtship life at the time.

    BTW, I could list my website , but it’s a bitter and brutal list of the agonizing symptoms of my sucky mystery medical condition aimed at forcing a diagnosis out of some medical professional, some day.

    Oh, and money (SSDI) out of the fucking gummint, given that I have cheerfully paid income tax while providing love and care to people most Americans and ALL politicians hate and shun and would rather see dead, while being paid a salary commensurate with their Dives-like scorn for the least among us.

    Is it a terrorist act to send pocket testaments to braying self-proclaimed Christians who are entirely unacquainted with it, judging by their speech and actions?

    Okay, that was a little random, but I’m heading into my third pain-induced all nighter this week, so I’m a bit scattered.

  6. Hsofia permalink
    January 15, 2011 5:31 pm

    I like art work!

  7. January 15, 2011 10:53 pm

    You just hit the geeky-cool point lottery for this one!!! I am jealous I didn’t think of it.

  8. Chi permalink
    January 16, 2011 6:30 pm

    I am geeking out so hard over this!! True story: my AOL screen name through much of the 90’s was Syzygy313 (or I think that was my secret identity screen name). Not too long ago I tossed a bunch of material printed out (on the sly, at work) from AOL keyword xfiles. That was the extent of my internet knowledge at the time. I remember spending a ton of time trying to compile a list of episode titles by going back through newspaper TV listings at the library. (Ah, kids these days will never know how good they have it!) I bought this: http://www.amazon.com/Truth-There-Official-Guide-X-Files/dp/0061053309/ref=pd_sim_b_4
    at an actual bookstore during a time in my life I could not afford new books at all and may not have had a car. It was the biggest deal actually going to the mall and buying it.

  9. January 16, 2011 11:12 pm

    This is amazing. Geeky, but amazing.

  10. Jeremy permalink
    February 5, 2011 12:15 am

    I was a huge X-Files fan until it all unravelled in the last 2-3 seasons. I had a similar game as your drinking game, only replace drinking with smoking… stuff. I always lit a cigarette timed perfectly with Cancer Man. Suffice to say, Musings of a Cigarette Smoking Man will probably be single-handedly responsible for my death.

Leave a Reply

