Skip to content

Dr. Strangecolor: 5 Ways to Quit Worrying and Start Loving Pantone’s Honeysuckle

January 5, 2011

Well maybe a hot pink, tufted velvet loveseat is a bit much...

When the Commandants of color – Pantone – announced “Honeysuckle” was their choice for 2011 I wasn’t exactly thrilled. I like pink more than most people. I love having around me, but I don’t live pink the way I lived last year’s color superstar – wait for it – turquoise. My love for various shades of blueish green from the palest Tiffany box aqua to the deepest teals has always been true and unwavering, but it turned into an unstoppable force once those color peeps told the rest of the world to get on the good foot. There was turquoise to be had in places where I hadn’t found it before. On lamps, purses, notebooks and my god even folding chairs. (the one pictured I’m sitting in as we speak). Can’t you just taste the unbridled excitement? But that was last year and this is circa now. Honeysuckle will be with us all year; we’ll be licking it off cake in frosting form, purchasing it marked down during the end of season clearance and perhaps maybe even embracing it. But for those of us who aren’t getting married in the spring or summer or flat out despise the color, yet accept its infiltration is unavoidable here are five ways to make the year as painless as possible.

Pantone's 2011 pick for Color of the Year

The color isn’t exactly awful, but seems like a departure from the crisp, stylish and decidedly gender free feel goodery that was turquoise. I realize much advertising is spent telling women they ought to consume beyond all that is reasonable, particularly as it relates to consumables that aren’t designed to last very long, but I’m still not exactly understanding why this shade of pink. Yes, we’re in a serious economic downturn and the color of our real world – something in the greige family – probably wouldn’t provide the toe tapping color induced happiness retailers need in order for those of us who still have two extra dollar left over after bills are kind of paid to go out and spend them on stuff we probably already have several versions of at home. I don’t even know how to properly punctuate that freaking sentence.

Can we have some real talk, readers? Honeysuckle is the color of my craptacular sky in my craft fail world! When I see this innocuous shade of pink I don’t see perkiness personified or hope springing eternal. I see the hours I spent decluttering my place and the layers of primer it took to cover those hot mess “honeysuckle” walls. Yeah, so me and this color got a history. Damn, I used to have a lot of junk in my house!

But my fail doesn’t have to be your fail. So let’s get to the list, shall we?


Acme Crayon Rollerball Pen – I don’t know who they’re getting to pay upwards of $35 bucks for this pen, but it certainly wasn’t me! I found mine in a local office/art supply store for $15 and I was still scoffing at the price. It takes standard roller ball ink cartridges and writes about as good as the cartridge you fill it with. It is a rather lovely conversation starter, if you’re into that sort of thing. Plus it’s cute. More importantly, it’s a nice splash of pink that disappears when not in use!

Make a Laptop Cozy – sadly, the original sold on etsy ages ago, but the more craft proficient amongst my readers could certainly make something similar and in the rosy hue of the year! How cute is this thing?

Ikea Nisse Folding Chair $16.99 – This gets my vote for how to best embrace the color of the year. I do love me a shiny ass, cheap plastic folding chair. And next to my vast cheap stylish folding chair collection this would be a worthy addition. All those bright plastic chairs of heaven would be shutting each other down with their terminal fabulousness and that’s even before I park my terminally fabulous hindquarters in one!

OPI’s That’s Hot! Pink $8.99 – Leaving aside the name evokes a celebrity whose 15 minutes mercifully ran out, this color is pretty hot for pink. Ironically, I can tolerate a great many things pink in color, but I cannot abide pink nail polish. Still, I would pair this with a proper glittery top coat and call it a day.

Barnes & Noble Hot Pink Basic Sketchbook $10.99 – There are no notable differences between this model and the black version, however, the novelty of having a pink notebook wore off rather quickly. Barnes & Noble makes a great affordable sketchbook (8.95) and whenever I’m in there I pick up one or two of them. The pink was a nice vacation from black – it’s amusing to see the lone colored sketchbook on a shelf housed with black ones – but the bookmark ribbon got dirty rather quickly and I had to remove it from sketchbook. In terms of performance, the paper is very thick and excellent quality, with a slick surface that feels quite fancy. Considering the modest price, it’s definitely lots of sketchbook bang for your buck. If I remember correctly, this one has 196 pages. One thing I will say about the pink is the cover shows edge wear really quickly. In fact, when I put it on the shelf I noticed it looked far more worn than the other notebooks, which are older.

Of course, there’s always Barbie! So dear readers how are you going to spend your year living pinkly?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

