Skip to content

My First Craft Fail of 2011: The Chair That Ate My Stretchy Pants!

January 4, 2011

yeah, mine looks kind of like this except you know, different. by different I mean not at all.

When I first spied this furry chair I couldn’t get it out of my head. The use of texture and line were delicious and I wanted to have some of that glamour in my place. Of course I didn’t have fur chair money, but I did have a hot glue gun, an old faux fur throw from JcPenney’s and a $2 office chair purchased nine years ago! In my mind it was all simple enough: cover the chair with the faux fur throw and enjoy its furry glamour on the cheap. Naturally, nothing is ever that simple, particularly when I am no stranger to craft fails,especially CHAIR related craft fails. I must be up to six or seven now!

For starters, being an old chair, the screws were stripped and rusted, which meant there was nothing short of miracle that could liberate the seat cushion from the base. No worries, I’ll just work around this limitation. So with the pieces semi-neatly measured and cut, I began the painstaking task of hot gluing them to the chair. Except, well the pieces were not sticking to the chair, but to each other and my fingers. Yet somehow this setback neither deterred me nor alert me to the coming doom.

Once I managed to get the pieces in place I decided they ought to have some weight to keep everything together until they could really dry. Since I don’t actually have any real tools – for this job or any other – I opted to use my body weight to secure the fabric to the chair.

Big mistake.

The hot glue seeped through the cheap faux fur and without knowing adhered itself to my PANTS. This only became apparent when I tried to stand up and found that my already raggedy stretch pants had ripped and the rear section was stuck to the chair. And I reckon the two layers of addition fabric used to cover up the torn remnants of stretchy pant isn’t doing the chair any favors either.

In my wildest craft failest dreams and given all the ways that my craft fail chairs had ruined other pairs of pants, ripping the pants off my body was a new experience. Maybe I ought to market my chair for Vegas strip clubs where this feature wouldn’t be considered a design flaw. Thanks for that suggestion, Hsofia!

This whole experience will now conclude with another piece of furniture bound for the trash heap. At least I got my first craft fail of the year out of the way. And like the title of the post suggests, there will probably be more craft fails to recap! Stay tuned!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 12:23 pm

    LOL. I find your intrepid nature to be an inspiration. Or a cautionary tale. Or both.

  2. AnthroK8 permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:07 pm

    This may, perhaps, be my favorite thing ever. The PANT EATING CHAIR.

    *thinks*

    Well. I like fries and mystery novels. But in addition. This here chair. I love it.

  3. January 6, 2011 6:06 pm

    Oh dear! Sorry for your pant loss but it’s good you see the humor in it haha. Better luck with future craft projects!

  4. Q.V. permalink
    January 10, 2011 11:32 pm

    Hilarious and heartening!

    I looked it up furniture stapling on the “Internet” and found nothing but encouragement:
    Furniture stores offer professional services for reupholstering old chairs and sofas. However, you cannot guarantee their crews capability to handle your furniture without adding more damage to them.

    The article then goes on to tell you how simple it is, and that you can totally do yourself what the professionals you-can’t-trust couldn’t, after you’ve read a 694 word-farm DIY article about upholstery stapler.

    What could go wrong!

Leave a Reply

