Skip to content

I Bought Soap at Wegmans!

December 4, 2010

When I first started dating my partner, he carried on about a fantagical place called Wegmans where apparently wishes were granted, vegetables were perpetually misted and the shelves were stacked with goodies beyond one’s wildest dreams. I was was skeptical to say the least. The first couple of times I accompanied him to Wegmans I was more overwhelmed than impressed. Then one afternoon we had lunch there and did a bit of shopping and I finally began to understand all the things Babby loved about Wegmans. And on my most recent trip Babby was kind of enough to spot me some soaps, because he knows of my addiction to soaps, particularly ones found in the hippie food section of the store.

South of France French Milled Vegetable Bar Soap Lemon Chamomile $5.99 – Babby loves these big, chunky soaps and I was pretty excited about it too. I love Lemon Chamomile scented soaps because they play exceptionally well with my body chemistry. Lathers up really fine and rinses away well, leaving nothing but a warm, tart scent on the skin.

Bee & Flower Jasmine Soap $1.09 I’ve always been wary of these soaps, but unfortunately Wegmans doesn’t carry the Chandrika soap that is my default soap because when combined with Amber Perfume Solid it plays up the earthy, dirty hotness of Angel Perfume. Disappointment and also-ran status noted, I was surprised by this humble soap and it’s ability to get a little lather going. It’s a decent approximation of my favorite soap and definitely has a nice feel on the skin. The scent’s a little too subtle on the skin for my tastes, but overall I’m super pleased.

Yardley London Eucalyptus Mint $.99 I opted to try this out because it was on super sale. Not a big fan of the tea rose Mee-Maw scented lavender hell that is default of most Yardley products, but Eucalyptus and Mint promised to give me a nice little kick when I’m tired or unmotivated to shower, which oddly enough is often the case. Nothing especially dazzling about its smell or lathering capabilities, but I did like the faint minty scent left on my skin. Kind of wish it was delicate enough to use on my face.

Hugo Naturals Bar Soap, Indonesian Patchouli & Sandalwood $5.49 I got a little nervous when Babby opened the packaging and said, “This kind of smells like floor polish.” This was not good news or a glowing review. I really wanted this soap to be a win, given that it had all the right scent notes and was the second most expensive purchase. Thankfully, it did exactly what I wanted, which was play extremely nicely with my body chemistry and leave a wonderfully musky hippie scent on me. Angel perfume loves this soap and Babby loved how I smelled after I used it.

Johnsons baby body wash, honey apple $1.99 (on sale!) I couldn’t resist, given this was one of the only flavors of Johnson’s baby stuffs I hadn’t tried and it was 50% off. Barely passed the bottle whiff test; really overly synthetically apple smelling, but like all of Johnson’s baby washes it was smoothness in the washcloth. It feels wonderful on the skin, scent becomes faint and un-intrusive and most of all it washes away completely, while leaving a layer of moisturizer on the skin.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 5:55 pm

    Wegmans is the happiest place on earth. But don’t just take my word for it, the Baldwins think so too!

  2. December 4, 2010 8:23 pm

    Wegmans is the happiest place on earth.

  3. hsofia permalink
    December 4, 2010 11:25 pm

    So Wegman’s is a grocery store with hot food booths?

  4. Hsofia permalink
    December 5, 2010 2:00 am

    It reminds me a bit of Uwajimaya (from limited video) I can’t tell – is it like an open market layout but indoors?

  5. December 5, 2010 2:24 am

    I don’t know if I’ve commented here yet or not. Just typical of me if it is my first comment, though, because I love soap, or should I say, I love soap from Villainess.net. These days I make about 3 orders a year, but would probably do more if shipping wasn’t such a PITA.

    Anyway, hooray for soap nerds!

  6. December 5, 2010 3:22 pm

    I feel you on the soap addiction, particularly those found in the hippie food section of stores. My favorite thing about the Bee & Flower variety, besides their overall charm and yummy smells, is that you can use the wrapper to send people little scented love-notes, or at this time of year, as gift tags. ^_^

  7. December 5, 2010 6:36 pm

    @Sarah – I love the dazzling array and irony of so many hippie vectored soaps geared for a populace that is wary of regular bathing in the first place.

  8. December 6, 2010 1:52 pm

    I absolutely love Hugo Naturals. The bath bombs are the bomb (ugh, sorry). My favorite soap is the grapefruit, but then, I love food scents!

Leave a Reply

