Skip to content

Cinemalphabet: Z is for Zapped!

November 25, 2010

Who doesn’t love the irresistible pairing of perennial D-list faves Scott Baio and Willie Ames? If a tree falls in the forest and Scott Baio isn’t around to hear it, does Willie Ames still have a career? Oh, the jokes about these two and their lack of any utterly redeemable cinematic qualities just write themselves.

Zapped! was a constant fixture on the premium cable circuit when I was growing up and it seemed I never managed to catch this stinker from the beginning. Nearly always catching it during the scene when Baio’s character projectile vomits into the kitchen sink (I believe) and it is a visual, which used to give me nightmares. While the premise – teen boy gets special powers and then uses them for sexual tomfoolery – must have made this thing a hit with – well – teen boys, I’m pretty sure I don’t need to scan any reviews to know they were probably scathing.

If the plot, the bad script, low production values weren’t enough, the always stinky Heather Thomas (of The Fall Guy fame) is along for the ride as the resident hot babe.

And with that, the first round of Cinemalphabet comes to close! Stay tuned! I’ll be starting another round of entries on December 1st. See you on the other side!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 8:16 pm

    Hahahaha wow, I’d forgotten about this movie. I vaguely remember watching it when I was in middle school or so, a time when my cousin was going through a weird Scott Baio phase after watching too much Happy Days. I used to get it confused with Real Genius, a superior but equally cheesy movie.

    Also I’m so glad you’ll be doing more Cinemalphabet! I was almost dreading the Z entry just because I was afraid it’d be the last one!

  2. December 10, 2012 10:38 pm

    “Who doesn’t love the irresistible pairing of perennial D-list faves Scott Baio and Willie Ames? If a tree falls in the forest and Scott Baio isn’t around to hear it, does Willie Ames still have a career? Oh, the jokes about these two and their lack of any utterly redeemable cinematic qualities just write themselves.”

    LOL

    I’ve seen this movie in bits and pieces too, but never completely. And seeing that it’s about a guy who uses his newly found powers to objectify women, I doubt I’d want to either.

Leave a Reply

