Skip to content

Cinemalphabet: Y is for Yellow Submarine

November 24, 2010


Ugh,is nothing sacred? So there is to be a remake of Yellow Submarine, a film, which I never found that charming to begin with. I am a fairly faithful Beatles fan, though I tend not be a fan of most of their cinematic efforts. I do, however, love the music, which the only reason I opted to do this entry at all! Yeah, I know. I’m just a big blue meanie!

This movie always made me feel like I was on drugs, even when I didn’t know what that actually meant. I find the animation to be rather annoying, but I suppose it works well with the nascent plot. Clearly a film meant to be enjoyed while imbibing bathtub gin or some other mood altering substance. Each time I sit down to view the film, I end up fast fowarding though the boring talking parts to get to the more lively singing parts.

I dated someone back in my early 20s who absolutely loved this film and watched it every chance he got. And that would have been marvelous, except he wanted me to watch with him and talk to me about the film, its music and the dramatic back story as though it were his job!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 7:19 am

    This movie seems to be like religion, and while I respect the true believers out there I find myself somewhat agnostic. I agree with you about the music parts; the talking parts are boring and the plot isn’t much better than Sgt. Pepper‘s.

    If you want a more entertaining trip-inducing film, I’d suggest the Monkees’ Head. On the other hand, maybe it’s not more entertaining, because now that I think about it I find I don’t actually remember it very well. Must have been the bathtub gin.

  2. November 24, 2010 7:19 am

    I so hate this flick. I guess I never understood the point. My dad feels its a must see movie. Of course he still swears Pink Floyd’s The Wall changed the world. So I don’t put a lot of stock in what he felt was groundbreaking cinema. The only thing sillier than bell bottoms are animated bell bottoms.

  3. November 24, 2010 1:25 pm

    The only thing sillier than bell bottoms are animated bell bottoms.

    I want that stitched on a pillow!

  4. November 24, 2010 2:26 pm

    A Hard Day’s Night and Help! are two of my favorite movies, but Magical Mystery Tour and Yellow Submarine are just ugh. So hard to sit through.

    I’m glad YS exists for two reasons: “Hey Bulldog” (catchy and underrated) and the real-life Beatles singalong of “All Together Now” that comes at the end (or beginning?) of the movie. Makes me think the Beatles hosting a Yo Gabba Gabba-esque children’s show could have been kinda adorable.

Leave a Reply

