Skip to content

Design Lust: Dinner With Gershwin

November 10, 2010

This Jonathan Adler designed dining room wowed me when I discovered it via House of Turquoise and since then I’ve wanted to do something similar in my dining/kitchen area. I love yellow/aqua/black/white combo.

The sideboard hack comes from ikea hacker and I’d be doing it with three across (more stable) rather than two and a tabletop. I’d also alternate the colors so it would be white-yellow-white, then yellow-white-yellow to get some of the yellow on white action on the chairs from the inspiration room. I’m also planning to go with a different table as the one featured is a little too “Golden Girls” for me, though I do like it.

What do y’all think?

Living room painting project

This is currently kind of what my dining area looks like, though I could be wrong. This would be the embarrassing “Before” picture!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ozma permalink
    November 10, 2010 4:52 am

    Super cool! Ikea hacks. I want to see that.

    I’m not sure if you’re asking about the photo or where the photo came from–Love the colors, love the arrangements–but there’s something about two lamps I don’t like. Antisymmetry is great but somehow that arrangement looks lopsided–but you have to keep white/yellow, not black/silver I think because of the way it sets off the color.

    Otherwise, ultra rad.

  2. November 10, 2010 9:26 am

    I really like how the martini shaker looks like a chalice, making the whole setting look like a UU altar.

  3. November 10, 2010 11:05 am

    @Ozma – oh my current dining area is a bit of a hot mess. It needs all the help it can get before it transforms itself into something more Adlerlicious. I agree with what you’ve said!

Leave a Reply

