Skip to content

My Fall Fashion Picks

October 5, 2010

Tasha’s fantastic weekly fashion posts have inspired me to pull together my own fall look. I could pretend I’m going to experiment with a bunch of different looks, but why front. Fall will find me snuggled in my sleek blacks, austere grays, rugged cognacs with splashes of teal, orange, girl scout green and probably some fuchsia. I am loving the return of sweater dresses because they’ve always been my fave and now they are much easier to find. I’m also glad my fall look requires only one purchase: those sweet brown boots. Everything else I already, though I’m not a fan of belting sweater dresses. Oh the ease and sassiness of pulling on a great sweater dress, tights, platform ankle boots or wellies, a chubby, nubby scarf, completed by a puff in the vest and a song in the heart.

Because fashion roadkill of the fictional variety is pretty hilarious…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:20 am

    I like all the sweater dresses you’ve pictured there – very nice!

    And thank you for not using the word “jeggings” in this post, that is the thing I am sad about for fall.

  2. hsofia permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:42 am

    *sigh* I really really need to buy some clothes. I have ONE pair of pants (jeans) for the non-summer season fall, and one skirt. No boots. Just bought a hoodie, but need a jacket. I’m in bad shape.

  3. IrishUp permalink
    October 5, 2010 3:08 pm

    FABU
    that.is.all

    No, it’s not, I just have to say I DIG the update on the cat’s eye glasses. Having last year discovered that I am sufficiently nearsighted that I have to wear glasses to drive, I am quickly becoming as glasses fashion geek.

  4. October 5, 2010 3:27 pm

    @Joanne – And thank you for not using the word “jeggings” in this post, that is the thing I am sad about for fall.

    Ha. I totally hate that freaking term too.

    @Hsofia – What kinds of clothes are you looking for? I was trying really hard to pull together looks that could incorporate things I already owned. It was actually fun. It helped me part with a ton of stuff I felt guilty about donating.

    No, it’s not, I just have to say I DIG the update on the cat’s eye glasses. Having last year discovered that I am sufficiently nearsighted that I have to wear glasses to drive, I am quickly becoming as glasses fashion geek.

    @Irish Up – I agree on the cat’s eye glasses! I love them, but I guess I got overloaded on them for a good decade. Glad a bunch of other styles are dominating the market place so I can get back to my cat’s eyes!

  5. hsofia permalink
    October 5, 2010 5:26 pm

    @Snarkysmachine – I’d like to have a sweater dress, and had one last year, but the problem was what to wear over it for really cold days. I have one lightweight wool coat that is knee length (pic here http://s4.thisnext.com/media/largest_dimension/BFA75310.jpg) and the sweater dress didn’t match all. My bad. I love skirts but used to wear them with heels, so re-thinking shoe attire is a big thing for me now that I’m not working. Boots might be the solution? If I find a pair that are good for walking in, and go with jeans AND skirts? People have told me the riding type boots are great, but not sure if that’s my look. Also, need clothes that are good for 2 hour walks in Seattle winters – it will be wet and cool outside, but I need to layer in order to stay at a comfortable body temp. Need to be able to chase kidlet around. I’m trying to avoid shopping for my clothes at REI, but “performance wear” is looking more and more tempting.

  6. hsofia permalink
    October 5, 2010 5:27 pm

    I like that black turtleneck belted sweater dress you have in your collage.

  7. Valerian permalink
    October 6, 2010 3:58 am

    Love all of it, but I would kill for the glasses and the _amazing_ purse.

  8. October 6, 2010 7:24 am

    @Valerian – The bag is from target and priced to move!

    @hsofia – while I don’t have a kidlet, I do work from home so I get what you mean about the clothing having to fit your lifestyle. I was never a riding boot type person, but once my lifestyle involved more walking around, shuttling to meetings and less sitting in an office, I had to rethink my footwear. In the winter I tend to stick with either hooker boots with a lowish heel or lug heel or a wedge heel or higher end rain boots. Though in most cases I lend towards the rain boots because they are really practical. that said, you have to spend some change on rain boots because the cheap ones aren’t as sturdy and the soles aren’t skidproof, which becomes quite hazardous if you’re going back and forth between the outdoors (rainy, snowy, wet) and indoors (tile floors, wet floors, etc).

    I love sweater dresses. I own them in neutral colors and getting them in thinner gauge fabrics so it’s easier to layer underneath and over them. The link didn’t work for me, but unless you need a super dressy coat for daytime or casual wear my suggestion would to with a puffy coat from Northface. It doesn’t have to be bulky, and they work well over any number of fashion options.

  9. October 6, 2010 5:55 pm

    I love your sense of style.

  10. October 7, 2010 3:00 am

    You should model some outfits and post ’em on here sometime! Such cute clothing selections for you – love them!

    P.S. It is just WRONG what they do to Carrie’s hair in that episode.

Leave a Reply

