Skip to content

A View to a Teal

September 20, 2010

Fall is around the corner and it’s time for me to say goodbye to my summer lover, sweet turquoise/aqua and rekindle my relationship with the murky and mysterious Mr. Teal. I rounded up four items I already own (everything but the sweater) and one I hope to own. Teal has always said, “fall” to me and reminds me of my favorite outfit when I was 13. The outfit consisted of a teal corduroy skirt (cut like a denim skirt) with a matching wool sweater and contrasting wool blazer. I wore the hell out of that outfit. I think it was one of the first times I realized I had “style”. Teal and I parted ways for awhile when I began to associate the shade with hideous taffeta prom gowns and bridesmaids’ dresses.
But we reunited after I saw Bandits and fell in love with Cate Blanchett’s teal wrap dress/sea foam green sweatercoat. I chased that outfit for years and never got an approximation I loved. Though I came close with a sea foam green v-neck thin ribbed sweater dress, which I paired with a teal sweatercoat. It was close, but ultimately, I’m holding out for a more faithful reproduction.

You knew this was coming…

From the picture:
1) Target Sphere Chair

2) MAC Starflash – Star by Night. Discontinued, I think.

3) Old Navy Buttoned Color Sweater Coat

4) OPI’s Teal the Cows Come Home

5) We Love Colors – Nylon/Lycra MicroFiber Solid Color Tights

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 12:53 am

    Yay teal is one of my favorite colors! Just re-applied my teal nail polish last night. I think it’s a good fall color, too.

    And I’m impressed you had “style” realization at 13! Took me until mid-high school I think, and that was mostly because I was rebelling against my school uniform.

  2. September 20, 2010 10:52 am

    Teal is an awesome color. Is it strange to consider it under-appreciated?

    And I want that sweater coat now–its cute and affordable.

  3. September 20, 2010 12:00 pm

    That sweater is amazing. So is Blanchett’s outfit… hey, I’m a redhead, does that mean I’d look good in sea foam and teal as well?

  4. September 24, 2010 12:45 am

    @Alex – what brand is your teal. I am attracted to Rescue Beauty Lounge’s teal, but not the price!

    @popscribbling – I think so. It’s one of those weird colors that folks seem to think is some other color. I remember trying to convince my friend to get a teal bedspread and he thought it was some other kind of green. When he finally saw something in that shade he was like, “Oh, so that’s Teal! I called it something else.”

  5. September 24, 2010 12:45 am

    @redlami – yes and definitely in that exact outfit.

Leave a Reply

