Skip to content

What I Really Want to Do is Write!

September 17, 2010

a stock photo of my computer Molly.

The last few weeks have been incredibly exciting (and hectic) as I have been dividing my time between my home in VT and my partner’s home in NY. Traveling back and forth afforded me countless hours to think about writing projects I want to undertake, books I want to read and films I want to watch. I try to put much of the traveling time to use listening to unabridged audiobooks, but mostly I fall back on the same four or five I seem to know by heart. The last time I drove back to VT I finished writing the entire rough draft of my one woman show The Intergalactic Diva Network in my head and actually finished writing it out a couple of days ago. Now that it’s not consuming 80% of my thought life, which explains why this blog kind of feels like it’s been on autopilot, I am all eager to let the rough draft “cool” and hopefully revise in the middle of October.

I can’t remember exactly when, but I stumbled across Film Forager, but it was definitely awhile ago and swiftly fell in love. If you haven’t checked out the site, I urge you to do so – if you love film. Alex’s reviews are perfection. She loves films the way I do and has a wonderful voice when it comes to analyzing them. Her film reviews are sharp without being formal, with a richness that only is expressed by true cinemaphiles. It’s hard to single out a particular review as my favorite, because I enjoy all of them, because I feel incredibly privileged there is a person putting their out their thoughts about film in a smart, accessible way. Okay, so the one I keep reading and loving is Robocop, but there’s also her stellar review of Midnight Run is just perfection. Often time, when I’m pondering a film – like recently it was Lonely Guy, I sniff around the site and find a review of the movie right there. Seriously, it’s awesome site. What’s awesome about it is feeling there is a community of people who write about film the way I like to read about it and by extension get what I’m doing in my own weirdly passionate film criticism. It’s the same joy I get from my fellow pen bloggers and from writing about office supplies. It’s a feeling absent when delving into -ism related topic or anything activist-y in nature. So I’m gonna stop doing that. I know I say that all the time, but really, this time I am. (ha) I love writing about pop culture in my own way and thinking about random character actors and pondering imaginary casts and being disappointed by Bruce Willis uninspired mid 90s filmography and writing about all of it. I Fry Mine in Butter is largely an outlet for writing about pop culture in a specific kind of way, but the format of the blog requires me to use a different style of writing, which I like, but it doesn’t always lend itself to the kind of writing I do best. Don’t worry, it’s not going anywhere. I love that blog and my fellow bloggers and what we’ve created in only six months of existence! Nearly 500 posts and pretty much all of them don’t suck. So I need carve out some space for myself here to write about films again. But this time in a little bit of a different way. I’m so excited actually.

So for the time being I’m going to focus on writing about films from American Gigolo to Zulu (and all the letters in between). I’m so freaking exciting about this. I’m excited about the films I’m going to be screening and excited about all the different film criticism books I’ve been studying and different film criticism perspectives I can use in my analysis. Anyway, it’s time for some music.

In keeping with the Jackie Brown theme:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 8:33 am

    I’m really looking forward to your cinema alphabet (Peggy Hill!) I think the list will be a great “what should we watch tonight?” resource.

  2. September 17, 2010 1:23 pm

    feel lucky to be reading your blog, I like what i see so far

  3. Everett permalink
    September 18, 2010 1:58 am

    I can’t wait!

  4. September 18, 2010 9:09 am

    Oh goodness you’re making me blush so much! Thank you so much for the kind words! I will endeavor to live up to them.

    Congratulations on getting out your show’s rough draft! And I’m really looking forward to your upcoming movie reviews!

  5. September 18, 2010 5:38 pm

    @Alex – I just watched “Putney Swope” this morning and thought of you. I’m still trying to sort it out. I know I dug it, both from a narrative standpoint – such that it was – and found it visually arresting, but it’s going to take a bit to process it. It seems a great counterpoint to Mad Men, and oddly has enabled me to get what the producers of that show are trying to do.

  6. September 18, 2010 10:46 pm

    Oh I actually haven’t seen Putney Swope but it looks so interesting! Love the concept, and I’ve never seen any of Robert Downey Sr’s films so that’ll be cool. Adding it to netflix right nowwww

  7. September 19, 2010 10:30 pm

    @1sttimeoffender, I’m glad you found your way here too!

Leave a Reply

