Skip to content

First Look: ‘For Colored Girls…’

September 15, 2010

While I’m not one of the millions who runs out every time a Tyler Perry film is released (in fact I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of his films on purpose), I know I will find myself dropping cashmoney in the theater to see For Colored Girls, if I can wade through all the criticism both legitimate and somewhat fatuous – uh, the shortened name is not a Rosa Parks moment, folks. And I’m not sure why that’s even meaningful discourse. Unless it’s the chow chow of folks whose racial experience isn’t reflected in the film and they don’t want to feel left out or something. The full title: For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf is just not going to fit on a marquee or poster. C’mon, people, act like you got some goddamn sense. Besides, the source material is powerful regardless of what it’s called.

read the rest at I Fry Mine in Butter

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 9:28 am

    i have the older version of this in my netflix queue. it’s supposed to be #1, but it’s apparently been highly requested. 😦

Leave a Reply

