Skip to content

Fashion is a maze in which we are all lost.

August 20, 2010

A reader/donor asked:

Snarky, you are fashionable! Hopefully you can solve my fashion dilemma. I love faux fur vests, but wonder if they are still in “style”.

Flattered as I am, I don’t know if I am still all that fashionable, but I will try to answer the question as best I can.

Way back I wrote an entry entitled, “Do You Have a Uniform?”, which I discussed what I wear and why.

For me, chasing trends is a young fashionista’s game and I’m far too set in my ways. However, it doesn’t mean I don’t like to add a few pieces every now and then. The faux fur vest being one of them.

For starters, I find them incredibly versatile, given I live in a geographical region that often necessitates layering. I scored my vest at the end of season for like two bucks, so it wasn’t exactly a big investment on my part. That said, it definitely has yielded some pretty big payoffs, fashion wise.

My vest is longer – nearly skimming the back of my knees – so it works well paired with leggings and a fitted turtleneck or t-shirt. Moreover, its coloration ties together the gray clothing diaspora occupying my closet. Suddenly, grey stretchie pants that didn’t play well with other items, come alive with a cream colored top and this damn vest.

So, no, dear reader, your vest is not played out. For as long as it brings you wardrobe satisfaction, it is always in the game!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Joel permalink
    August 20, 2010 6:02 pm

    Honey, fur vests are O.V.E.R. Sorry.

  2. Patty permalink
    August 21, 2010 1:13 am

    I think fur vests are fugly. Why would anyone want to continue that trend. Yuck.

  3. August 22, 2010 4:30 pm

    Thanks for your feedback. I don’t happen to share your opinions though! 🙂

  4. August 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    Some people are just jealous.

  5. hsofia permalink
    August 23, 2010 2:35 am

    I think this is the first time I’m seeing one of these!

  6. August 23, 2010 11:22 am

    Whatever to the negative commenters. My personal fashion philosophy: wear what you like, wear with confidence. In other words, what Snarky said!

  7. August 25, 2010 10:05 am

    I second TG’s remark. Fur vests aren’t my thing (I never actually wear fur- faux or not), but it sounds like you rock out with yours, and that’s what matters!

  8. August 31, 2010 1:29 am

    I saw a cute fur vest in Target’s plus size section the other day. I thought about it, but vests just make me look like a big square.

  9. August 31, 2010 2:52 pm

    The ones at Target are too short. I saw them too. My armpits don’t need the warmth.

Leave a Reply

