Skip to content

You Are the Wind Beneath My Keyboard

August 12, 2010

Thank you to everyone who donated to my quarterly beg-a-thon. I am humbled and a bit misty eyed – if you want to know the truth – at the display of generosity and kindness by y’all. It means so much to me. So let me give a run down on what all this giving means for your weekend:

Starting next week, I will devote TWO half days per week solely for blogging.
That means ALL the blogs – even my woefully neglected pen blog Does This Pen Write – will get regularly scheduled love. It is my goal to bring fresh, fun, engaging content to Snarky’s Machine five times a week, Does This Pen Write three times a week and I Fry Mine in Butter four times a week. That’s twelve fresh blog posts PER WEEK. It’s buckets of awesome.

I am donating a heap of time to several non profits.
Either via grant writing, envelope stuffing, project management and workshop facilitation. I’m also going to create a sliding scale – based on need – in order to make quality grant writing accessible to cash strapped orgs who have strong, sustainable missions, which are in alignment with my own values, which are: inclusion, accessibility, diversity and compassion.

I’m gonna actually stage my one woman show – The Intergalactic Diva Network
The Intergalactic Diva Network is autobiographical show, which combines story, song and TAP DANCING to explore my Huxtablian upbringing overseas and how it has informed my understanding of race, class, gender, sexuality and pop culture.

I’m going to stop worrying about “when” it’s all going to happen.
You have spoken. All of you. Whether through your cash, your comments, your eyeballs or all of these above. You have said in a loud voice, “Snarky has a unique, refreshing perspective on pop culture, activism, and artistry.” I’m going to stop wondering when it’s gonna get noticed by more people and just focus on making my content all bad ass.

I’ll going to take a post a week to answer a question posed by you!
Please send some to me. Use my contact form to send me thoughtful questions and I will explore them in a post. Seriously, do it! I would love to interact with my readership much, much more. Also, I am so excited about the posts I am writing in response to donor request for content. Excellent prompts!!!

In the meantime, I’ll leave up my donation button. Thanks so very much to everyone. Thanks to Adrian. You guys are so very good to me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Paige permalink
    August 12, 2010 4:42 pm

    Snarky, if you’re ever desirous of bringing your one-woman spectacular to NYC, please let me know! I have some contacts that might be useful – although you likely have tons of your own!

    I’ve never been in a place where I could help fund a blogger before – or where it was simply NOT AN OPTION not to support the work that you do, both on the web and in real life.

    Thank you for all you do.

  2. August 13, 2010 2:20 am

    I am super excited about your idea for a show!!

  3. August 13, 2010 7:49 am

    I feel very fortunate to have heard some of the material that will likely end up in Snarky’s one-woman show. I know it will be fabulous!

  4. August 14, 2010 9:02 am

    I can’t wait to host that show in my city. I will MC, you will perform, and after we’ll roll out a karaoke machine and sing duets!

  5. August 16, 2010 4:00 pm

    Wow, exciting things all around! I’m looking forward to your increased blogging and hearing more about your stage show!

Leave a Reply

