Skip to content

I Thought the Only Lonely Place Was on the Moon…(Jet! Woo Ooh Ooh Ooh Ooooh)

July 8, 2010

This week’s record setting heat wave has made me seek various means of dealing with the weather, some of which include:

  • ranting about douchebags via twitter
  • attending lectures on advancements in bed sore prevention and treatment.
  • becoming a “naked” person in my clothing optional state.
  • swimming everyday
  • doing everything (writing, chasing down clients who owe me cashmoney) while sitting in front many cheap janky ass box fans, liberated from friends who’ve got more 2.0 with A/C window units.
  • bossing around my babbycakes
  • reading about Michael Caine
  • watching a lot of movies

To be sure these are all fine activities, but they’ve not managed to lower temperatures or prevent crabbiness. This reminded me of the movie trope of summer heatwaves being the catalyst for all manner of shenanigans ranging from race riots to serial killings.

Summer of Sam

Spike Lee’s film Summer of Sam could also be called, “Hey, there are multi-faceted white folks in this movie!” – the only truly notable thing about the film, which takes some interesting – by interesting I mean, pathetic and obnoxious – liberties with the infamous case of serial murderer David Berkowitz – a.k.a “The Son of Sam”. Berkowitz terrorized the city of New York in the mid 70s with a string of attacks, which left six people dead and seven people wounded. If you crave a real “Hey there are multi-faceted white folks” style Lee film, I would suggest the vastly superior 25th Hour.

In the Heat of the Night

In the Heat of the Night asks the musical question – Is it the heat or the stupidity? This tale of slow moving oscillating fans, heat seeking racial bigotry and sweaty shouting matches, it appears to be a draw in the heat vs. stupidity battle for supremacy. Stellar performances from the incomparable screen legends Rod Steiger and Sidney Poitier.

What are your favorite films which take place in the summer?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. A Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:38 pm

    I am not sure I want to endorse what my mind came up with: My Girl; Annie (oh yeah, Aileen Quinn, baby! Also, my Halloween costume, TWO years in a row, thank you!); and O Brother Where Art Thou. Because each of them have scenes that evoke a hazy, hot, sticky, unrelenting, stuffy, every-smell-hangs-in-the-air feel that to me (because I’m from St. Louis) says “summer.”

  2. Alibelle permalink
    July 9, 2010 9:51 am

    My favorite summer movies are Stand By Me, Now and Then and the Sandlot. For some odd reason I just love me some coming of age movies set in summers well before I was born.

  3. IrishUp permalink
    July 9, 2010 10:22 am

    TOPS has got to be JAWS! I think we saw it 7-8 times that summer. A close second is “Car Wash”. Although, as it’s set in LA, it might actually not be a summer movie, but that sweaty-working thing is how I remember summers. Really such a good movie, and the Pointer Sisters and Rose Royce just KILL IT – summer movies should have a killer sound track!

    (Bill Duke lived in our building at that time; it was an NYC old law tenement with cheap rents http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Law_Tenement. “Car Wash” proved to be his ticket out. YAY ON YOU, Bill! )

  4. J.von permalink
    July 9, 2010 11:06 am

    A Sarah, I thought of the Coens as well. Barton Fink definitely has the atmosphere you described – sweaty foreheads, peeling wallpaper, grubby tank tops and foul play.

  5. Teaspoon permalink
    July 9, 2010 1:50 pm

    My favorite summer movie is Dirty Dancing. I am not ashamed.

  6. July 9, 2010 6:33 pm

    IRISH UP. GET OUT OF TOWN. I have some seriously funny Bill Duke stories, mostly from my mom! They had mutual friends, one of which seemed to include George Lazenby.

  7. IrishUp permalink
    July 10, 2010 3:18 pm

    Snarky’s – WOW!!?? Really??!! too cool. I bet those are some GREAT stories. And George Lazenby? Super-cool!!!

    I was a pre-teen with half a crush on Mr. Duke, so when I saw him, I tended to be just overcome with embarrassment. He was pretty nice to the hall-running-door-slamming-stair-jumping kids of the building’s superintendents, though (UNLIKE mean old Mrs. M). My own mom wonders if he still remembers his zebra-print linoleum in his kitchen?

  8. Kelly permalink
    July 10, 2010 7:45 pm

    I loved The Wackness as a coming-of-age story in the hot summer. Saw it on a very bad date, but the movie has stayed with me.

  9. July 12, 2010 9:18 am

    No discussion of summertime movies would be complete without the Griswolds:

  10. hsofia permalink
    July 20, 2010 9:06 pm

    When I saw Summer of Sam, I remember thinking, “What the heck is wrong with this movie?”And to this day, that is ALL I can remember about it. I own 25th Hour, and I only own about 30 movies, 10% of which are Terrence Malick movies, so that is saying something.

    I, too, like the coming of age summer movies. And Jaws is a great one! Now, I’m from places where it’s not usually hot so I have a hard time remembering if a movie takes place during the summer versus just taking place in California or the South. But if these take place in summer, some of my favorites are definitely: The War, King of the Hill, Stand By Me, Eve’s Bayou, Daughters of the Dust, Burnt by the Sun, and Back to the Future.

Leave a Reply

