Skip to content

Roll me in designer sheets/I’ll never get enough

July 7, 2010

I had this big X-Files deconstruction post all set to go and suddenly I thought, “What the hell are you doing?” and I scrapped it. I just couldn’t be arsed to do it. I don’t want to write that way about pop culture any more; I never did. I want to write about pop culture the way I want to write about it and I know people can handle it. Moments like the one with Dianne Steinberg are exactly what I’m after. I have always sought kindred spirits and when I LJ’d I totally had them. I miss those people. Who seemed to get me for exactly who I was and didn’t expect me to teach them things they weren’t going to incorporate into their lives anyway. Moreover, I don’t want to interact with the kind of people who think I’ve got something to teach them. I don’t want to bite my tongue about crappy pop culture – if forced to take a stance – or pretend I feel anything other than contempt for those who find xkcd or LOL CATS humorous. Seriously? No, I don’t need it explained to me. Inane, unfunny corny whiteness is fairly easy to understand. Why not try some subtle humor. If I’m gonna indulge in some captain obvious humor it’s gonna involve Betty and Veronica or Benny Hill. I am having such a blast at IFMiB, mostly because my co-bloggers are funny, smart and write about stuff I actually find entertaining to read even if I’m especially jazzed by the subject matter. People talk a lot of chow chow about wanting to create media reflective of their life experiences and respectful to folks of various life experiences, yet there is very little acknowledgment of folks who actively work to create those spaces – like my cohorts at Fry Butt. Everyday we’re being funny, cheeky, smart and actively trying to avoid engaging in -ism fail.Where is this coming from? Oh my god, someone send me a long scathing email calling me – of all things – a dour feminist. That shit stung. I am a billion things, but I am NOT dour. Now, I know many people who have had that criticism hurled at them are in fact, quite dour, but not me. I am fun, baby. It’s about time I started acting like it. Seriously, if you need education or smackdowns you better get the fuck up on out of here. I mean I guess if you have single serving faux-oppression coupled with whiteness it probably feels all sexy and hot to be making a Rosa Parks moment about everything that ever happens, but if you’ve got real oppressions, then you’ve got better shit to do. Like looking at nekkid pics of Richard Gere from thirty years ago.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 7:04 am

    but if you’ve got real oppressions, then you’ve got better shit to do.

    amen.

  2. July 7, 2010 9:40 am

    can i like xkcd, lolcats, AND you?

  3. July 7, 2010 10:15 am

    I totally like reading your blogs because you’re utterly without humor, wit, or funness. In fact, I read what you write specifically because you are such an exemplar of dourness and woe, I hardly need to read anything else and I have met my daily ration of grimness and then can spend the rest of the day thinking about Sin and Moral Turpitude much more effectively.

    Also, I like Richard Gere’s bottom. And good pens.

  4. A Sarah permalink
    July 7, 2010 10:56 am

    “People talk a lot of chow chow about wanting to create media reflective of their life experiences and respectful to folks of various life experiences, yet there is very little acknowledgment of folks who actively work to create those spaces – like my cohorts at Fry Butt. Everyday we’re being funny, cheeky, smart and actively trying to avoid engaging in -ism fail.”

    Seriously, you really do. I don’t know what impresses me more: y’all’s encyclopedic and quirky collective pop culture knowledge, or your ability to avoid -ism fail without sounding like US missionaries home on furlough pounding pulpits and exhorting parishioners to think about the plight of the unsaved.

  5. A Sarah permalink
    July 7, 2010 11:24 am

    Huh. I’m noticing with some astonishment that that picture of Richard Gere does nothing for me. Upon further reflection, I think it’s because I keep thinking for a split second that it’s David Duchovny, and then I realize it’s Richard Gere, and I go, “Oh. Eh.”

  6. July 7, 2010 12:45 pm

    can i like xkcd, lolcats, AND you?

    Absolutely! I just want it to be okay (or not) for me to like stuff I like too.

  7. July 7, 2010 6:57 pm

    Girl, do what you do. Silly.

  8. July 7, 2010 6:58 pm

    And yeah when I first saw that I thought it was Duchs and I was all “hell yeah!” But then I experienced the same Richard Gere let down A Sarah described.

  9. July 8, 2010 3:33 am

    In the words of Team Dresch “I do what I do and I don’t need you to tell me what’s in, to tell me who’s cool.” That’s you all over Snarky, just do your thing and let us all love it like we do!!

  10. Octavia permalink
    July 8, 2010 4:27 am

    LOOK AT THAT GROINAL REGION AND WEEP. I watch ‘Pretty Woman’ for him. Unfph.

    People need to not be trying to take care of your business, or make you take care of theirs. You are the best person to take care of your own business, and this is your place.

    LOOK AT THAT COCKY DAMN HIP-SLANT, JUST LOOK AT IT.

  11. badhedgehog permalink
    July 8, 2010 5:13 am

    OMG, objectifying Richard Gere is sooo problematic! (flap flap, high horse, snidey whine, pointscore pointscore)

    Seriously though, I don’t think it’s possible to do pop culture writing and do it well unless you’re writing in your own voice, talking about things the way you talk about them.

  12. A Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2010 9:32 am

    As I get over my Richard Gere letdown (which, okay, TF, I just totally had a moment of “TASHA FIERCE SAID MY NAME AND SHARES MY RICHARD GERE LETDOWN! AIEEE! Somehow this makes me feel REALLY GOOD ABOUT MYSELF!”) I also notice that I really like the set dressing in this picture. I wonder if the wee tree drops leaves on whoever is sitting in the chair that looks like it’s comfy but hard to get out of.

  13. Teaspoon permalink
    July 8, 2010 11:40 am

    “Dour?” I do not think that word means what they think it means.

  14. July 8, 2010 12:40 pm

    When I went on a search for Gere nudity I was not prepared for the wealth of images awaiting, without warning or even context.

    I thought there would be table of contents and then cock!!!

  15. Alibelle permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:19 pm

    At first this post looked scarily like a “I think I’m going to stop blogging for a while” post. I got super upset. Like, do what you got to do, but I just had an ovary and a five pound tumor removed and I’m on lots of meds so my reaction to you no longer blogging would have been very very bad.

    P.S. You are so not dour, I totally planned to read the archives here to tighten my ab muscles laughing once the stitches came out. Dour? Fuck that fucking shit.

  16. A Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:32 pm

    Wait… what? Hey, Alibelle, I hope you feel better soon! How long of a recovery are you looking at?

    Also, my mind can’t help distilling this post and its comments into some kind of step-by-step list. So far I’ve got:

    1) Table of contents
    2) Cock
    3) Better shit to do
    4) Dour? Fuck that fucking shit.

    Honestly not a bad agenda if you like cock.

  17. Alibelle permalink
    July 8, 2010 4:03 pm

    Stitches come out monday, so not a long recovery time. Even faster if I follow that awesome agenda that you layed out!

  18. July 8, 2010 9:27 pm

    @Snarky: Richard Gere’s wang was all over the place in the 80s. It was sort of like Rob Lowe’s ass in that regard.

  19. July 9, 2010 9:54 am

    I thought there would be table of contents and then cock!!!

    margaret cho’s mom totally wins the universe. one of my favorite things is when i have the ipod on random and something from that show comes through the headphones while i’m at work. i feel so subversive!

  20. July 9, 2010 12:59 pm

    I’m sorry, but you don’t think this is funny?

  21. evmaroon permalink
    July 11, 2010 8:50 am

    We love you too! And we love how you write.

  22. July 12, 2010 9:02 am

    People who send you comments like that via email — instead of in a more public space like the comments section of one of your blogs — probably do so because deep down they know there won’t be anyone who’ll agree with them. Which means there’s some other agenda. Like their feelings were hurt because you fingered their ism, or dissed their fun.

    And for the record, though I find you fabulous in every way, I do enjoy me some lolcats and xkcd. So I hope you can find a way to hold the sites themselves in contempt and cut some slack for people who manage to find some much needed lulz there.

Leave a Reply

