Skip to content

The ‘Shippers’ News

June 23, 2010

I want to believe these two do it!

A season by season glimpse into the ‘shipper moments of the series
I will try to touch on the highlights and probably will miss a few moments, which hopefully you’ll be more than happy to fill in the missing details.

Season One

  1. The bra and chonies show a la the pilot. I was not a fan of Scully’s “damsel in distress” framing considering she’s the physician and Mulder was just another weird coworker.
  2. In “The Jersey Devil” Scully is reluctant to tell Mulder she has a date. The beginnings of sexual tension.
  3. When Mulder’s ex lady friend comes sniffing around in “Fire” Scully’s reaction is very, “I will hurt this lady!” which scanned to me as jealousy.

Season Two

  1. Mulder’s anguish and despair sex with the vampire lady (Duch’s real life girlfriend at the time!) in 3.
  2. There’s some hugging and comforting in the “Irresistible”.

Season Three
Here’s where things start to cook!

  1. Scully is mega jealous of Dr. Bambi in the infamous cockroach episode, “War of the Coprophages”
  2. Scully ends up bunking with Mulder, except she can’t remember how it happened. Unfortunately, Jose Chung can’t explain it to them either.

Season Four

  1. The entire episode “Never Again”. Clearly, Scully was trying to random fuck and tattoo it out! All her unresolved sublimated feelings for Mulder. And I’m certain that’s why Mulder was on vacation.
  2. Mulder throws a surprise party for Scully and also commits her senior thesis – at least parts of it – to memory.
  3. Nearly bangs a shape shifter disguised as Mulder. Mulder seems a tad bitter about it.

Season Five

  1. Mulder does some weird Elvis move in order to get Scully to dance with him. They dance and it’s all very hot. “Post Modern Prometheus”
  2. Luke Wilson tries to blow up Mulder’s spot. Mulder definitely gets jealous. “Bad Blood”
  3. Hot geek girl in bad make up and hideous nostril ring makes Scully jealous, because Mulder is kind of into her. “Kill Switch”
  4. “Detour” boasts yet another shabbily constructed plot device – trapped in the woods – which enables Mulder and Scully to cuddle and be playful. Under the guise of trying to stay warm and not die.
  5. Scully does not like this Diana Fowler person (Mimi Rogers). Apparently, Fowler had a relationship with Mulder.

Stay tuned for the great ‘shipper moments from the last three seasons and the two movies!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 5:17 am

    It’s been ages since I watched The X-Files, how I miss all the little treats they’d give the ‘shippers’. Yes, once I would giggle and squee whenever things looked close.

    X-Files night was serious business in our dorm, four of us would pile into a closet-like single rooms and get platonically close on a tiny bed every Friday. The lights went out, and there was no talking in between the commercials. I lost my heart to the host of that little viewing arrangement and managed to “forget” my shoes every week so I’d have an excuse to come back when the others had left. It’s a good job that The X-Files was an amazing show, because I struck out with the other thing. I’m sorry, I’m yammering about me in your space. The two things are so closely intertwined for me that one will always cause me to think of the other.

  2. June 23, 2010 10:22 am

    I’m very impressed at how long they managed to keep that tension going without interfering with the plot, unlike some shows (I’m looking at you, Leverage).

  3. Leah permalink
    June 23, 2010 10:28 pm

    I like to think they kept the sexual tension unrealized for people like me, who, as a kid, had comprehensive yet very separate fantasies about meeting them both individually and falling in love with them and having sex with them. I’m *thrilled* this is on instant watch now, I think this show might help me work out a few personal issues!

  4. June 25, 2010 4:11 am

    Yes, like Rocky V, Season 9 does not exist to me.

  5. A Sarah permalink
    June 25, 2010 12:30 pm

    Well bonfires and weenie roasts! This is getting printed out and put on the fridge for reference.

  6. June 25, 2010 3:43 pm

    The War of the Coprophages!! That is totally when it really begins to smoke in the pan. Season five started to feel a bit like pandering in those episodes, but I ate it up and watched those scenes where she’s singing “Joy to the World” again and again anyway. I still quote that thing about getting naked in a sleeping bag together to stay warm, too.

  7. June 25, 2010 4:31 pm

    You better pray it starts raining sleeping bags!

  8. June 25, 2010 5:17 pm

    I don’ wanna wrestle!

  9. June 25, 2010 6:50 pm

    Oh man, X-Files is pretty much the reason I realized I was bi. I was like, yes please… one of each. Or y’know one of each at the same time. Whatevs.

  10. Jane permalink
    June 27, 2010 12:28 am

    I thought I was the biggest shipper around. Are you gonna write about the Queen Anne episode?

  11. June 27, 2010 1:45 pm

    @Jane, I think I’ll find a way to write about “Triangle”.

  12. Kay permalink
    July 1, 2010 8:27 am

    I guess I would be considered a “shipper” though I don’t think I have ever heard the term before. Found my way here looking for something else. decent stuff. Don’t like being called a “racist” but whatevs.

  13. July 2, 2010 10:36 am

    Don’t like being called a “racist” but whatevs.

    When I forget to use antiperspirant, I don’t like to be called “stinky” either.

Leave a Reply

