Skip to content

Top 3 Mythos Episodes of The X-Files

June 22, 2010

In the first installment I listed my top three non-mythos episodes of The X-Files and now I’m going to do the same with episodes exploring the mythological arc of the series.To be honest, I’m not exactly sure if the episodes I’ve selected are in fact great examples of effective mythos storytelling or rather they are ones I find the most tolerable of the category. My problem with the mythos wasn’t that it was overly complicated, but it just didn’t interest me. It started with a simple premise: prove the existence of beings from other planets and dismantle the conspiracy of those seeking to conceal these facts. That was all well and good, but the bees, the black oil, train cars, abductions, paternity dramedy and alien-human hybrid births tended to get in the way of possible Scully Mulder sexxing and well, that’s why I watched the show. I am not proud of this admission, only honest.

Um, yeah.

1) “Duane Barry” Season 2 Episode 5

    Duane Barry is an alien abductee who loves referring to himself in the third person. Duane Barry does not want to be taken and is prone to screaming fits and going off the rails. Played by Steve Railsback who is chilling as a patient of a psychiatric facility who takes his treatment team hostage. Mulder is summoned – during his daily swim – in order to talk to Duane Barry out of harming the hostages. This episode sets the stage for much of Scully’s ongoing story arc. CCH Pounder appears in the episode, and appears to have the same costumer and hairstylist as Scully (ha!). They even have the same vocal cadence. A refined lilt to their voices, and big wide eyes. Anyhoo, the most important aspect of this mythos episode is Mulder in that damn red Speedo.

2) “One Breath” Season 2 Episode 8

    The culmination of the Scully alien abduction arc and a great work around of Gills’ real life pregnancy. I love the interplay between Duch and Gills in this episode, though this is about the time where rumors surfaced of their on set occasional acrimony. In any event, I am really in hearts with the sweetness of this episode and the surprising poignancy displayed by Mulder, who up until this episode still seemed nothing more than two dimensional eye candy.

3) “The Red and the Black” Season 5 Episode 14

    The second episode of a two parter beginning with “Patient X”. Okay, I won’t lie, my ‘shipper heart went to a very naughty place during Scully’s hypnosis scene, featuring her writhing around on a leather couch making sounds of passionate orgasm. I mean it’s really not supposed to be that way, or is it? All I know is Mulder is sitting on the pr0nny leather couch next to her and instinctively reaches for her hand when her moaning reaches a tremendous and embarrassing crescendo. Oh yeah, it also features some shape shifting rebel aliens who are handy with a flame thrower.

4. “Tithonus” Season 6
5. “Tunguska” Season 4
6. “Millennium” Season 7
7. “The Truth” Season 9
8. “Unusual Suspects” Season 5
9. “Ascension” Season 2
10. “The Blessing Way” Season 3

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 7:15 am

    I never got into the X-Files and so never realized what good storytelling there was to be had there. So I really ❤ these posts for making suggestions as to which episodes to watch… "The Red and the Black" is definitely on the short list.

  2. Leah permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:41 am

    Ah, see, unconsummated sexual tension+aliens is one of my favorite combinations. This is making me think that something I need to do soon is rewatch the entire series, I can’t believe it’s been almost a decade since I’ve seen it!

  3. June 23, 2010 2:17 am

    @Leah: I jumped at the chance to revisit the show on Netflix instant view. It’s been a real treat to pop in and out of seasons and find some choice moments of creepy fun and sexual tension in the show.

    I’m working up a “great moments in shipper history” post for my X-Files week.

  4. June 26, 2010 1:21 am

    I have a soft spot for first season E.B.E. aka the All the President’s Men episode. I was also a sucker for Scully in spiritual crisis, etc., episodes like Memento Mori.

  5. June 26, 2010 8:05 am

    Oooh, I love E.B.E. too.

  6. Mary Alice permalink
    July 22, 2010 11:29 am

    One Breath is so moving! YAY X-Files posts~ wooo hoooooo

Leave a Reply

