Skip to content

Make a Statement Without Saying a Word

June 20, 2010

My collection of statement necklaces

Statement jewelry – particularly statement necklaces – are one of my favorite accessories of summer. During the hotter months, I tend to get lax in my “style” and pretty much only want to wear either A-line skirts with tanks/tees or slouchy tees and cropped stretchy pants. Don’t ask me about style, I’m more of a uniform gal, and tend to wear the same outfits – albeit in different colors – every day. I used to be a lot more into fashion, but now I’m pretty comfortable with my look, which is fun, but casual and I’m not that interested in being prescriptive about it. People can wear whatever makes them happy. That said, I do love brightly colored costume baubles – the kind only found tangled in dusty clearance bins or tucked in the back of teeny bopper stores beckoning me with 10/$10 signage.

Right now I’m wearing the mess out of a a hot pink Sorry Board Piece ring I got from Hot Topic for a dollar. Some chick offered me ten bucks for it. I couldn’t part with it, because it’s the perfect shade of hot pink and I often refer to it whenever I’m trying to make sure I’m not buying something pink that’s too red or too purple.

I don’t own many “real” pieces of jewelry, but I have tons of sentimental stuff. Like a giant ring made with a real fork – tines bent up like whoa – a vintage four finger ring with my nickname “Peaches” blinged across my knuckles, my Mickey Mouse watch, I’ve worn since I was 18, an old ass Swatch that people are always trying to buy off me. And of course my vintage Tag belt buckle, which is less blingy than it was 20 or so years ago! Oh who am I kidding – it was 24 years ago!

This was one of my 10/$10 scores five years ago. It was one of the last items I put in my basket and I wasn’t especially enthralled with it initially. It looked too “hippyish” to me. Of course, I’m kicking myself for not getting the turquoise one! I didn’t realize I would like it so much. It’s hard to tell from the picture, but it’s lacquer looking and really huge. I have this weird fixation with red necklaces, despite not being all that interested in wearing a lot of red. I have way too many red necklaces. I wear this with everything. I like wearing it with teal, aqua, purple and green. I get so many compliments on it – mostly from hippies – and it is a pretty cool necklace. I also have it in brown.

Some weird mall store was going out of business and had these necklaces in three different colors (red, hunter green, clear) – 3/$1 – so I went kind of bonks and bought six of each. It sounds like a lot of necklaces and I guess in a way it is, but I love layering several of one color. Lucite accessories are all the rage this year, so once again I inadvertently find myself “in style”. Maybe I’ll break out my clear heels and sport them sans judgment. Like I did in like 1992. Ha. AOL doesn’t call me “Angeinclearheels” for nothing.

I found this necklace on clearance for $3.99. I was stunned. It’s gorgeous and I can’t remember where I bought it. I’m sure it was during a quick visit to the mall and I’m sure I was supposed to be getting something else. Sometimes I wear it as a bracelet. Other than the fact it was four bucks there is no great story about this necklace.

La Mommie bought this for me to go with the dress I wore to my brother’s wedding. I’m pretty sure the dress was green and totally looked amazing with necklace. I’m also certain the necklace cost more than the dress. They dress was an amazing Jones of New York thingie on megaclearance. I get compliments on the dress and the necklace every time I wear them, which nowadays is usually not together.

This necklace reminds me of something Madonna might have worn with her rhinestone ankle boots in Desperately Seeking Susan. I totally need to watch that movie again. I used to watch it eleventy billion times a weekend when I was 14! Anyway, some dude who was trying to chat me up gave me this necklace. As a rule I do not generally accept unsolicited jewelry from strange men, but this was too cute to rebuff.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 10:29 am

    I love some A-line skirt in the summer. Cropped pants or capris with 3/4-sleeve blouse is pretty much my uniform for a hot day. That, and my beat-all-to-hell Timberland leather sandals from T.J. Maxx. I’ve had them for six years and they’re a mess, but I’ve found nothing comparable in style or comfort level since and CAN’T let them go until I do.

    Necklaces are my favorite jewelry article besides earrings. I can’t do rings or bracelets because I don’t like having things on my hands, so a necklace is the perfect stays-where-it’s put-and-out-of-my-way kind of item. I go for pendant-y things on understated chains mostly.

    LOVE your $3.99 green stone necklace. The color, the shape, it’s beautiful.

  2. June 20, 2010 8:46 pm

    I am so into all of those necklaces! Especially the lucite one and the heart one. I just watched Desperately Seeking Susan last night with a couple of friends and Madonna’s style back then was seriously incredible. If some hipster would do retro-80s like that I would bow the fuck down. I miss that Madonna.

  3. June 21, 2010 8:12 am

    That rainbow of neckware makes a really stunning picture. It seems a bit slim on blue, is that a color you tend not to wear in jewelry?

  4. June 21, 2010 11:34 am

    I would love moar blue baubles!

  5. badhedgehog permalink
    June 22, 2010 6:18 am

    Those are some great necklaces. I ‘specially like the red circles one and the lucite one. And the multi-strand one.

    Teeny bopper stores are such a good place to go for jewellery. There’s always a rack of cheap necklaces and there’s always something good for less than a fiver.

  6. Octavia permalink
    June 23, 2010 3:31 am

    I have a necklace in green like the red one at the top. My nana, of awesome taste who always buys me perfect clothing / accessories (seriously my husband can’t even just buy me that sort of personal shit, she just knows, it’s magic) bought it for me. It is huge and has a tiny, metal camel embedded in the plastic of the middle largest circle. I stopped wearing it because people were always stopping mid-conversation and bending in and squinting, “… is that a camel?!”
    Damn it, me and my huge green camel necklace are going to become reacquainted.

Leave a Reply

