Skip to content

If coincidences are coincidences, why do they feel so contrived?

June 9, 2010

Hi. My name is Scully and I'll be your platonic heterosexual life partner

The voters have spoken. In a decisive victory, the sci-fi cop procedural The X-Files will be the next show I comprehensively deconstruct. People have inquired as to my own preference. They are in order starting from the bottom and going up. The other good news is Xena fans will not walk away empty handed. They too will bask in the glow of a Snarky’s deconstruction. The rest, which will be featured throughout the summer, will be published in order of their vote tallies. Yes, you will get SATC and most likely, you will NOT be happy with my framing. (I really love the show)

If you’re lusting for oh snap-a-licious Snarky’s Machine content, don’t forget to check out my newest blog entry over at Bitch Magazine entitled Snarky’s Cinemachine: Bay of Pig which examines director Michael Bay’s estranged relationship with the truth. Swing by and comment me up. Your comments help keep me in lack tables and store brand oatmeal!

Mendelson’s article positions directors Michael Bay, Michael Mann (Heat, The Insider, Collateral) and James “More Water! Less Water!” Cameron as fellow travelers in on-set verbal nastiness. Based on what I have researched and read on all three, I will not dispute Mendelson’s point. I will, however, respectfully move Cameron (seriously, folks, I am NOT a Cameron apologist) into the column of film director jackassery occupied by such luminaries as Ridley “Blood Runner” Scott, Stanley “If you can’t understand them [women] just don’t cast them,” Kubrick and Joel “I know you didn’t put your hands on me, bathrobe wearing assclown!” Schumacher, who have scorn heaped upon them over the way in which they handle (read: smack down) on-set dissent. That said, Scott, Kubrick and Schumacher a have reputation for being much more “equal opportunity” in their distribution of said smack downs. In Schumacher’s case much of his attributed “jerkiness”, when viewed through the lens of his open homosexuality, scans as a problematic attempt at a “tone” argument. For the record, Schumacher’s days of helming big budget pictures pretty much vanished after all the controversy surrounding the Batman franchise…click here for more

In addition, Weekly Streisandicures return with a bang this weekend’s The Way We Were. Do not miss this!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    June 9, 2010 6:11 pm

    BEST news I’ve heard all day. Can’t wait!

  2. Teaspoon permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:37 pm

    Looking forward to both!

  3. June 10, 2010 7:45 am

    I love your deconstructions, I can’t wait to see what you do with Xena!

  4. June 10, 2010 4:54 pm

    Y
    E
    S

  5. June 11, 2010 9:21 am

    Woooooooo!

  6. IrishUp permalink
    June 11, 2010 12:30 pm

    Just wanted to comment here how much love I have for “Bay of Pig” piece. I don’t quite have the head to deal with the derail for dummehs demonstration over at “Bitch Magazing”. Someone’s irony meter is busted – making a “tone” argument in the comments at Bitch Magazine, ferfuxsake….
    (wanders off grumbling…)

  7. June 11, 2010 5:28 pm

    Thank you, Irish Up! Yeah, I was trying to be very specific in my criticism of Bay’s behavior as it relates to his films. I don’t need to seem him be mean every single day of his life to make some assumptions about his behavior. I’m a blogger not a journalist or biographer.

  8. Loma permalink
    June 13, 2010 4:58 am

    Looking forward to more of your posts on x files. great stuff here.

  9. June 16, 2010 8:49 pm

    In anticipation of your X-files post, I must inform you! Or rather, I must inform someone who will feel! the! awesome!

    I have been watching the X-files for the very first time in my life. I am up to S5.

    In S5, Ep3….there is a crossover.

    WITH MUNCH.

    OF HOMICIDE.

    OH NO THEY DIDN’T.

    *squee*

  10. June 16, 2010 8:56 pm

    The Unusual Suspects FTW!!!

Leave a Reply

