Skip to content

Sweet Soul Revue

June 7, 2010

A reader requested my “chill” playlist. These ladies keeping my nights sweet, soulful and chill this summer. Basically, I click wheeled through my iPod and “Sweet Soul Revue” was the first chill out playlist I found. I love relaxing with a beverage and my paper journal while enjoying these vocalists shutting it down. Homicide recaps start up on Friday. Until then, enjoy your chill time!

“Sweet Soul Revue” – Pizzicato Five

“Making Music” – Chungking

“Make It On My Own” – Alison Limerick

“Time and Tide” – Basia

“La Vie en Rose” – Grace Jones

“Perfect” – Fairground Attraction

“Say What You Want” – Texas

“Inside and Out” – Feist

“Notgonnachange” – Swing Out Sister

“Fantasy” – Black Box FEATURING Martha Wash

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:13 am

    Pizzicato Five!

    When I was in junior high, I heard Twiggy on a local indie radio station. The DJ didn’t announce who the band was. For years, I would accost people and start singing what I could remember of the song, something like, “Chic-oh fabia ba nee way, chic-oh it’s a thing I sing oh way” and ask if they had ever heard that goddamn song and, if so, please tell me what it is.

    My sophomore year of college, I was walking through the dorms when I suddenly heard the song blaring from a dorm room. I burst in to find some girls watching a movie. “WHAT IS THAT WHAT IS THAT SONG THAT’S PLAYING TELL MEEEEEEE.” They told me they were watching Charlie’s Angels and also I should get the hell out of their room.

    I went through a lot of singing in public and crazy-talking at perfect strangers to figure out who the fuck Pizzicato Five was. Such love!

  2. June 7, 2010 3:10 pm

    Aww, you’re like me! I was the same way with them. I kept singing the song to people right in their faces.

  3. June 7, 2010 5:58 pm

    I love Pizzicato Five.

  4. June 7, 2010 11:07 pm

    Yay, you’re back to the world, Tashie!

Leave a Reply

