Skip to content

It Might Be You

May 31, 2010

Aqua stacked ball lamp shutting down that chartreuse wall

I am wildly addicted to House of Turquoise, which is a design blog all about some turquoise, aqua, robin’s egg blue and the likes. While perusing the site I came across the most glorious set of teal stacked ball base table lamps and I wanted them. Of course they were way out of my price league. Enter: TJ Maxx. Found this faithful approximation on clearance for $12!!! It’s embarrassing to admit how much I adore this lamp. It’s been in every room (except the bedroom where it wouldn’t work). Who knew a twelve dollar investment could yield so much delight. It’s the kind of statement piece one could build an entire room around – if one were so inclined.

black Kartell style lamps

Kartell Bourgie Lamps set my world a flame, but them hot bag of “no thanks!” prices! Stumbled onto these knockoffs at Wally World for five bucks a pop. At some point I’m going to fix the one on the right, restoring it to its former glory. I really want the freaking clear, invisible plane version. I didn’t even realize how close they’re styled to the pricier version until someone snarked about my over priced “hipster” lamps. Ha. I need to dust these mofos! How embarrassing! Bringing them out for company all dusty and utterly devoid of their usual photogenic quality.

I'm just mad about Herman and he's just mad about me...

I had never been one for yellow decor, but then came across Sub-studio’s rainbow bright post with this yellow Herman chair from Ikea and I was like, “Oh snap! I need that chair in my life.” Someone had returned them to Ikea and I got two for the price of one! (retail for one: $14.99). I noticed they don’t appear to carry the yellow ones anymore! This chair started a daisy chain reaction of yellow accent pieces in my place. It’s amazing how a pop of yellow shuts down aqua or hot pink, particularly when they are same level of shade intensity. You know, this is why I didn’t do so hot in Graphic Design 101. There is probably a term for different colors with the same shade “temperature”. Hopefully, someone will comment with the proper terminology.

My lamp, table and chair obsession shows no sign of diminishing. I was scoping out Ikea’s Marius stools which now come in baby pink, white and baby blue! I have the orange – currently unavailable – and black. I want them. The blue would match Mandy Patinkin, the table exactly! I swapped out Mandy’s black legs for white ones – it’s summer – and I love the “Miami Viceness” of it. Of course there’s still the matter of Mandy not really working with the existing color scheme, but fortunately I’m not one for matchy/matchy. Oh what the hell, let’s look at Mandy yet again!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Octavia permalink
    May 31, 2010 3:22 am

    Ah! We have sympathetic lamp tastes. That turquoise lamp is all sorts of perfect.

    I am so jealous of my international friends having access to Ikeas. It is a great source of decorative bitterness for me, no lie. Case in point, I’ve been trying to find a stool like the ‘Marcus’ one, in white, here for AGES to set up a kind of makeup table arrangement in my bedroom, and the nearest one I can find is $100. 6 BUCKS, 6 BUCKS. Argh.

  2. May 31, 2010 6:12 am

    Your love of IKEA is like having Christmas Eve all through the year. The putting-things-together part.

  3. May 31, 2010 3:29 pm

    Mandy’s sweet shape spreads joy.

  4. Claire permalink
    June 1, 2010 4:06 am

    Now when I see a blue top table I starting singing “Oh Mandy…” Does that count as Pavlovian conditioning?

  5. IrishUp permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:38 am

    “….fortunately I’m not one for matchy/matchy….”
    I’ll just channel some Stacey and Clinton and say, doesn’t have to match, does have to go.

    Based on the posted photo, I think it rather does go, particularly if it now has white legs that will echo the white trim on the wall and white stacky-table that I think I see in the background. While a slightly lighter tone than the lavander wall, the colors appear to have comparable saturations in the lighting of the photo. Plus that blue brings in some of the hue from whatever other room(s) with the drooly-gorgeous turquoise wall & ball lamp. I’m a big fan of that kind of theme-echoing anyway. I do it in every set I’ve ever designed, I am now realizing. YMMV, of course.

    And, is chromaticity the word you’re looking for? It refers to the purity of the color, and in the chair picture that’s what I notice; the difft colors appear to be of similar chromaticity – similar vividness despite differing hues.

  6. June 7, 2010 11:13 pm

    @IrishUp – thank you for your comment. It definitely makes me realize what needs to be done. The white legs were a choice I was nervous about since it didn’t make any sense. But what you’ve said here outlines exactly why it’s the better choice.

    Also:

    And, is chromaticity the word you’re looking for? It refers to the purity of the color, and in the chair picture that’s what I notice; the difft colors appear to be of similar chromaticity – similar vividness despite differing hues.

    Yes, that’s exactly the word I was searching for. Thank you. I seriously didn’t do so hot in Graphic Design with the exception of the theory and historical aspects of the class. Not practical application or stuff like color theory.

  7. June 7, 2010 11:19 pm

    @Octavia – I still can’t believe that lamp was 12 bucks, I keep staring at it and thinking, “this is giving me a lot of joy.” I’m sure it was probably a return, which the person said was “broken” or whatever just to skirt TJ Maxx’s rather draconian return policy. And they tested the lamp, realized it wasn’t broken and decided to just go ahead and clearance down. Then I showed up!

    @Michelle Galo – The shape was what initially drew me to Mandy. I tend to live in small spaces, or spaces that are weirdly sectioned so even if it’s a good sized place it’s chopped up into small, oddly shaped rooms. Mandy is perfect because it’s substantial, yet doesn’t really suck the life out of a room.

    @Claire – I do feel all kinds of gooey whenever I pass Mandy. And I do sing the song while I wipe it down!

    I’ve been neglecting you guys. Thanks so much for sticking with me. Much love to y’all.

  8. IrishUp permalink
    June 8, 2010 3:35 pm

    “Yes, that’s exactly the word I was searching for. Thank you. I seriously didn’t do so hot in Graphic Design with the exception of the theory and historical aspects of the class. Not practical application or stuff like color theory.”

    Haha! If you’ve any technical proficiency, we might just have a fully-functional artist between us, because I am stong with color theory, but no draftswoman at all. Glad I could help.

  9. June 8, 2010 4:35 pm

    Haha! If you’ve any technical proficiency, we might just have a fully-functional artist between us, because I am stong with color theory, but no draftswoman at all. Glad I could help.

    Quoted for truth! I am inspired and a little envious of folks who can make the ideas in their heads come alive artistically, through mediums like painting, interior design, film and music. Sometimes my rabid, eager consumption feels greedy, but I try not to frame it that way.

Leave a Reply

