Skip to content

Blog Post with Everything but Yul Brenner!

May 21, 2010

Photo credit - AP | Bob Fosse Superstar

Sorry for the zombie blog of late. I guess I wasn’t kidding when I said I was going to blog every single episode of Homicide: Life on the Street and the Law & Order crossover episodes.

Current Obessions and all that jazz

    Books
    I just finished Martin Gottfried book All His Jazz: The Life and Death of Bob Fosse, which is the most comprehensive book a person with only a mild fascination should bother to read. Still I love rubberneck style biographies. It makes me feel as though I’m doing something other than sitting on my Click Clack, drinking a chilled beverage in comfy pants and an oversized t-shirt.

    Music
    LCD Soundsystem’s third album This is Happening is shutting down my iPod. This is the first new music I’ve bought in years. I mean I’ve picked up a few retro gems, but not actually an honest-to-gosh new release. I feel so hip and modern.

    Film
    It’s nearly time for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, my pre-summer favorite movie. Netflix keeps teasing me by dangling the movie’s instant view “coming soon” goodness. I can’t wait. It’s not summer until I watch my boys go the cowboy way.

The Write Stuff: I’ve written elsewhere you might have missed

    Ooh I Hear Laughter in a Can Walking Hand in Hand with the One I Love – I take down the canned laughter industry one faux ha ha at a time.

    Generally speaking, placing the adjective “canned” in front of any noun rarely denotes the presence of a high quality product. [canned laughter] Many folks feel comfortable scoffing at canned chicken, spaghetti, apologies and ham, while the most egregious example of a noun modified by “canned” – laughter – barely registers as offensive.

    Failed Movie Adaptations Now with 100% Less Bonfire of the Vanities – Three failed film adaptations off the beaten track.

    Really Tropic of Cancer was bad? I am shocked by this development. Are you trying to tell me a soft core treatment of a novel by Henry Miller, which moves the novel’s events to the 60s and stars Rip Torn is bad? Wow, that’s quite a grasp of the obvious. That said, I’m not completely sure I trust your analysis, so please indulge me as I read a dozen lists – picked randomly by google – telling me the exact same thing. Folks, there is a great untapped pool of awful film adaptations. Why keep analyzing same 20 or 30 films we’ve all come to agree are TERRIBLE?

    The Curious Case of Detective John Munch – All about the intriguing world of John Munch. Just like the title says.

    The Bluest Ink – I road test a bunch of different blue pens and tell you why several of them stink.

    Hawaii Five-O Gets a Reboot – My thoughts on the upcoming CBS reboot of the beloved classic cop show.

    If it sounds like I’m equivocating; I am! I love the original, but I also love the idea of seeing a lot more Asian faces on television – provided we’re not going the M*A*S*H or The Courtship of Eddie’s Father route. If we’re talking about the Fontanaverse/Simon style of characterization where there are many, many different characters for whom their racial identity presented as a shared trait rather than shared ideology, then I’ve got to get behind this project without hesitation.

I am in the middle of doing a whole mess of writing related stuff, while also trying two manage three blogs! Stay tuned for in depth analysis of season six of Grey’s Anatomy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hank permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:23 am

    Oddly, I have had three conversations about Munch in the past week. Is it Munch month or something?

    Also, SVU is the only L&O I like.

  2. May 21, 2010 12:21 pm

    I’ve been looking forward to watching “All That Jazz” again. Back when you were talking about movie quotes, I forgot to add that one of my favorites is It’s showtime, folks! — complete with the hand motions, of course.

  3. leavingnormal permalink
    May 21, 2010 2:00 pm

    My husband told me, after hearing it on the news, that the Munch painting, “The Scream,” has just been found again after being stolen. Then he went on to tell me there are three paintings of ‘The Scream’ and now one new which was the ‘real’ one. I thought he meant there were 2 fakes painted by other people and one painted by him. Husband then told me that no, all three paintings of ‘The Scream’ were painted by Munch. Which to my mind made it that all were the real deal. Maybe it’s the psychiatric drugs or something but I couldn’t be bothered trying to work that out and rolled over in bed to go to sleep. Husband then asked, would I like him to go watch Friday night football in the lounge room. I said, please. Friday night football being one of my very unfavourite things. I drifted off to sleep. Somethings I just have to let go. One of them is Munch. Oh, hell, just realized I’ve got the wrong Munch.

  4. leavingnormal permalink
    May 21, 2010 2:02 pm

    i meant ‘know (Not Now) one knew which was the real one.’

  5. leavingnormal permalink
    May 22, 2010 3:50 pm

    Actually I think I meant ‘no one knew’ which was the real one. Fucking hell.

Leave a Reply

