Skip to content

Try a 10am Script Meeting, Coked to the Gills and You Haven’t Even Read the Treatment!

May 11, 2010

Wouldn't hold out for the briefcase...or the Creedence

Random bits of dialog from movies/film/songs I use daily.

  • separate incidents – whenever two unrelated ideas are introduced in the same sentence, conversation or whatever. From: The Big Lebowski. Example. “This gum makes my teeth hurt. We should watch that documentary on B-way.” ooh, separate incidents.
  • It’s producing, that’s what it is – pompous acknowledgement – in a seemingly modest way – of one’s exceptional talents upon having another person explain in tedious detail just exactly what was accomplished and how amazing each element was. From: Wag the Dog.
  • He’s in the cab! – used whenever someone is engaged in some stereotypical behavior or to highlight someone else’s observation of it. From: Men in Black. For example, when I crack open my laptop and set down my coffee mug I smile and think I’m in the cab! like so many other writers around the world engaged in the same activity.
  • Now, they’re getting it. – used whenever people are getting the message without having the message spelled out for them, though not due to insight, but rather ham handed “clues”. From: Wag the Dog. “Cnn is running a story about how it’s expensive to be poor. NOW They’re getting it.” 99.8% of cases it’s used in sarcastic manner.
  • they just hadn’t thought it through. – often used in conjunction with “Now, they’re getting it.” also from Wag the Dog.
  • I want something sexual! – stated after someone has provided what they believed to be a “juicy” detail, particularly when they’ve described it as such. Must be said with copious amounts of righteous indignation. From: The Contender and said by Sam Elliot’s character.
  • 1/10 scale model – to illustrate the illusion of an element being discussed. From: Wag the Dog. “We shot that in a studio in Falls Church, Va – 1/10th scale model”. Must use this hand gesture and delivery style
  • Luther, if it makes you feel better I’ll always think of you that way – uttered whenever someone’s long held self belief has been shattered, particularly if it’s something horrible. For example, “I’m such a flaming jerk, but these kids I’m working with think I’m a great.” … “Luther, if it makes you feel better, I’ll always think of you that way.” From: Mission Impossible (1996).
  • Thermopolis will just have to wait – procrastination verbalized. From: 1001 Rabbit Tales and uttered by Daffy Duck.
  • Heat up the oil, the colonel’s chicken’s got company – long winded way of saying, Oh SNAP. “Mel Gibson is in trouble again. Heat up the oil, the colonel’s chicken’s got company.” From: 1001 Rabbit Tales.
  • The worst ______ since the cast party of the Poseidon Adventure – any thing offensive to fat people: jokes, clothing, food tropes, dubious medical claims, dating prospects, level of creepy behavior, what have you. From: Grief.
  • yes, have some – sheepish acknowledgement that one either did not understand 90% of the conversation, has no productive response or just plain wasn’t listening. From: Ghostbusters.
  • doing an endive salad – boasting about accomplishments of a dubious nature. Example: in my about me section – along with legitimate accomplishments – I boast of winning the 1983 Fire Prevention Week Poster Contest, which while certainly being the case, was not in fact a highlight of my life or even that year. From: Tootsie.
27 Comments leave one →
  1. Teaspoon permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:55 am

    I use “yes, have some,” too. I completely check out when I read, but people always seem to want to pick then to talk with me, but they don’t want to go to the trouble to get my attention first. By the time I realize they are, they’ve potentially been nattering for several minutes. Mr. Teaspoon has figured out that if he says the first three words of what he wants to say and then waits, that my brain realizes that there is something unfinished going on and I check back in — it works for me, because I can more naturally find a stopping place before I look up and intelligently ask, “Huh?”

    I also use “Shiny” from Firefly, about half-and-half between sincerely and sarcastically. I was using it before the show came out, but it got more frequent after watching a few episodes.

    Other frequent quotes are: “Can’t remember diddly. Can’t remember squat. Diddlysquat.” from the Finding Nemo trailer, but the quote didn’t make it into the film, and “You forgot FLUFFY!” from Lilo and Stitch, sometimes in response to a list and sometimes as an alternative to “wtf, over?”

  2. May 11, 2010 11:49 am

    I also use “Shiny” from Firefly, about half-and-half between sincerely and sarcastically. I was using it before the show came out, but it got more frequent after watching a few episodes.

    I also use “Shiny” but for a different reason! It’s more like, “SHIIIIIIIIINYYYY!” from my niece who used to have an electronic diary which had as its password – SHIIIIIIIINYYYY – except the only way the diary would recognize the password is if it was uttered exactly in this matter.

    She would say, “shiny” and the diary would say, “access denied” over and over.

    I mimicked her saying it and, of course, the diary welcomed me like an old friend with a hearty, “access granted! You’ve had four intruder attempts!”

  3. aliciamaud74 permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:00 pm

    My family uses “Be careful out there among The English” from Witness, as a farewell.

    And “I can’t abide rudeness in a man” from Lonesome Dove…Woodrow (Tommy Lee Jones!) says it after smashing the bartender’s face into the bar, leaving him bleeding and his nose badly damaged…it’s appropriate after a really witty or harsh verbal takedown.

    My mom is prone to Dennis Farina’s “Fuck you, Fuckball” from Get Shorty…I have a hard time working it into my teaching day in a way that won’t get me fired.

    (And…*I* won the 1985 Fire Prevention Poster Contest!!! SQUEEE! That was the year we wrote Vincent Price a letter in English class…and he wrote back! My teacher, a NYS dairy farmer’s wife, knew him through the National Milk Council or some such. And ALSO the year I won a Daughters of the American Revolution contest for my essay about Crispus Atticks. Endive salad trifecta!)

  4. May 11, 2010 12:02 pm

    And “I can’t abide rudeness in a man” from Lonesome Dove…Woodrow (Tommy Lee Jones!) says it after smashing the bartender’s face into the bar, leaving him bleeding and his nose badly damaged…it’s appropriate after a really witty or harsh verbal takedown.

    YES YES YES YES YES! Thank you for reminding me of THIS ONE. Oh my goodness.

    It’s up there with Eastwood’s retort, “He should have armed himself” after being called out – in Unforgiven – for shooting an unarmed man.

  5. aliciamaud permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:54 pm

    My brother and I also say “Shane…come back, Shane!” for not being able to remember a word, phrase, or movie title. This comes from the fact that of the hundreds of movies we watched together as a family, the ONLY ONE my dad can ever remember the title of (or title character’s name) was Shane. A conversation that includes a movie recommendation from my dad sounds like, “Oh, you should see…uh…that movie about Rome. It’s the one with the guy who’s in movies now, but was in that show with that blondie girl and the other girl with the chimpmonk cheeks?”

    “You mean Melrose Place? With Jack Wagner? Who is not Russell Crowe, who stars in Gladiator, which is the movie I think you’re thinking of?”

    “YES. That movie. That’s a good movie.”

    Cue brother’s plaintive wail: “Shane. . .come back, Shane. . .”

  6. May 11, 2010 12:57 pm

    I used “small and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good” from Lilo and Stitch a LOT.

  7. May 11, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oh, and some of my favorite lines are the ones I utter under my breath… like paraphrasing Sir John in “Arthur” with “usually one must go to a bowling alley to meet a person of your stature.”

  8. May 11, 2010 1:03 pm

    I am a big fan of saying, “When you try to sound like Hammond it always comes off like a ruse or a hustle…” and trying to sound like Jeff Goldblum while doing so. It’s a throw away line from Jurassic Park II, but it always makes me laugh.

  9. May 11, 2010 1:04 pm

    “I was bowling” = what? I guess I wasn’t paying attention. Can you say it again.

  10. aliciamaud permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:19 pm

    Not a direct quote, but an allusion. When I tell my partner about a successful teaching moment, he typically responds “Aw, I love you, Edward James Olmos.”

  11. Teaspoon permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:39 pm

    Too funny about the electronic diary. My son has a voice-controlled toy R2-D2 that it takes all three of us to operate, because it only understands some commands if someone else says them. Now, of course, I will be imagining “SHIIIIIIIIINYYYY!” when he has the thing out, and I will be trying not to giggle, so it will actually go into hide-and-seek mode.

    Jeff Goldblum’s dino days also brought Mr. Teaspoon and I, “Faster. Must go faster.” Normally used after someone tries to crawl up the tailpipe, it does have some, ahem…other…giggle-worthy applications.

    I’ve also used “small and broken, but still good” like Redlami, upthread.

    Also, anything in The Princess Bride is fair game for frequent quoting at our house, with favorites being, “I know something you do not know,” “Is this a kissing book?” “I did that on purpose; I didn’t have to miss,” (usually after dropping something or failing basic tool-use) and “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

  12. May 11, 2010 1:49 pm

    it’s like snarky’s very own TV Tropes!

    i know my fiancee and i (and other friends) have some of these, but i’m having trouble coming up with them. most of the ones i can think of are either Eddie Izzard – Dressed to Kill related or not tv/movie related, but just things that have come up in our life.

    Eddie:

    Like Ya Do – used when telling a story that involves something you don’t typically do. “So, I went to the store this morning and this woman was buying flame retardant socks…”, listener briefly interrupts with “like ya doooo”.

    I was on the moon!/I was dead at the time! – universal “i didn’t do it!” excuse

    Life:

    In my pants! – the universal answer to any “Where is [something]?” question. comes from a college experience in which someone snarkily asked my fast-walking friend, brandon, “Where’s the fire?”. since then, almost 10 years later, it’s the ONLY answer i’m capable of giving to that question.

  13. IrishUp permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:04 pm

    We use a lot from Arthur: “I’ll alert the media” is especially handy after ‘I’m going to the bathroom’ type announcements. “It’s not a perfect crime, but a *good* crime” and “You might be right, I can’t decide” also see good use.

    “Carrie” isms are common: dirty pillows, “there all gonna laugh at you” is said whenever someone is going out to a big event, and my family are all known to be “weak and back-sliding” – perhaps this is quite understandable, since we each have found in horror, revulsion and pleasure that “Oh, I liked it!” Also, is it my imagination, or isn’t it John Travolta who first said “gitterdone” and not that stupid Cable Guy guy?

    But hands down has to be Young Frankenstein. Mr. Irish and I say goodbye “Taffeta, darling!” We use “Put the (ze) candle BACK” when a plan has not executed the way it was intended. “Walk *this* way” is infinitely useful, as is “So what is it you *do* do?” Any list of beverages offered to a guest ends with the interrogative “Ovaltine?”. And perhaps my favorite line of the movie is “I suggest you put on a tie”, which I use in situations when the person or project is miles away from ready for an imminent event.

  14. IrishUp permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:06 pm

    Dang! that there there is a they’re. Phooey!

    “They’re all gonna laugh at you!”

  15. May 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    Jeff Goldblum’s dino days also brought Mr. Teaspoon and I, “Faster. Must go faster.” Normally used after someone tries to crawl up the tailpipe, it does have some, ahem…other…giggle-worthy applications.

    YES! Must increase rate of climb!

  16. May 11, 2010 2:48 pm

    “They’re all gonna laugh at you!”

    DePalmalicious! My sister says this ALL THE TIME. Often on my facebook wall, whenever I mention something embarrassing happening to me.

  17. May 11, 2010 2:50 pm

    In my pants! – the universal answer to any “Where is [something]?” question. comes from a college experience in which someone snarkily asked my fast-walking friend, brandon, “Where’s the fire?”. since then, almost 10 years later, it’s the ONLY answer i’m capable of giving to that question.

    YES.

    Babbycakes is often given to adding “In bed” after a host of things.

    example: How sort software updates…in bed.

  18. May 11, 2010 2:50 pm

    In my pants! – the universal answer to any “Where is [something]?” question. comes from a college experience in which someone snarkily asked my fast-walking friend, brandon, “Where’s the fire?”. since then, almost 10 years later, it’s the ONLY answer i’m capable of giving to that question.

    YES.

    Babbycakes is often given to adding “In bed” after a host of things.

    example: How to sort software updates…in bed.

  19. May 11, 2010 11:15 pm

    I use “Shiny” a lot when I describe things. Also I tend to attach “-age” to words, a la BtVS.

    I will say the cab-rant against the Eagles at various times during the day.

    Eddie Izzard also gets quoted in regular conversation by both Mr. OJ and I. My best moment was when describing the Anglican church “We’re kinda like Catholics, except we allow divorce and have women made of jam.” Also I describe things as being near Tanzania. Or as being “cuvered in BEEEEES!”

    High Fidelity gets quoted a ton in my daily conversations, too. And The Princess Bride. And anything from most Disney/Pixar movies.

  20. tanaudel permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:38 am

    The Princess Bride (“and as everyone knows, Australia is populated entirely by criminals), What’s Up Doc and Labyrinth, in our house. Especially What’s Up Doc:

    “There is no Hans. There is only me, Fritz” if someone mixes names up (and the response: “Oh, what a shame.”)
    “Come in, it’s broken,” if someone knocks.
    “What’s wrong with it?” whenever someone mentions the future.
    “Waiter, what wine are you serving at table one?” whenever our table at a restaurant gets carried away.
    “C’est la guerre” instead of C’est la vie.
    When told about a far-fetched theory, “Oh yes, I think I read a monograph on that.”
    When asked what’s happening: “Well, there’s not much to see actually, we’re inside a Chinese dragon.”
    “Read a lot of good books… went to a lot of movies, mostly,” when asked what we did at uni.
    When blamed for something obviously your fault: “It came out of the faucet that way.”
    And the frequently appropriate, “Don’t you know the meaning of propriety?!”

    Hmm. Must go watch that again.
    And seconds (or fourths by now) to “Little and broken, but still good.” Stitch was awesome.

  21. hsofia permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:47 am

    I like this edition even more than the first.

  22. badhedgehog permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:00 am

    My mum and dad and I used to do tons of quotes from “Revolution!!” by the National Theatre Of Brent, which is one of those examples of sheer unbridled brilliance that the BBC does every so often and then manages to completely wipe from its archives. It starred Patrick Barlow as actor/producer Desmond Olivier Dingle and Jim Broadbent as actor/dogsbody Wallace — the conceit being that these two would re-enact the French Revolution, playing all the parts themselves. Jim Broadbent played Marie Antoinette, wearing a wig and hat and with a lace shawl over his suit jacket, and he was the best Marie Antoinette I’ve ever seen.

    “Whatchoo bin’ doin’ den?”
    “Nothing much, spot of huntin’.”
    We’d greet each other with this a LOT.

    One was never just bored, it had to be “Louis, I’m BORED!”

    “Just got to do a spot of piping for the Pompidou centre”

    “Storm the La Bastille! Storm! Storm I say!”

    These days, erm, lemme see, I use a few Top Gear quotes; but it’s never simply “This can only end well,” it’s “In the immortal words of TV’s Richard Hammond, ‘this can only end well’…”

  23. May 13, 2010 9:56 am

    Re: Disney/Pixar…. yes! My favorite: “This is the PERFECT time to panic!” (Woody from Toy Story)

  24. May 13, 2010 10:13 am

    I’m fond of rocking DeNiro’s line – all combat takes place at night in the rain and the junction of four map segments.

  25. Gen permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:37 pm

    @IrishUp: LOL, we use “I’ll alert the media” too!

    I’ve been re-watching lots of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” recently. It makes my adjectives get all adjective-y.

  26. Coco permalink
    May 14, 2010 12:51 pm

    I constantly use “Boy, do I hate being right all the time” from the incomparable Mr. Goldblum in Jurassic Park – it’s perfect for any number of “seemed like a good idea at the time” disasters.

    I also love to say “Any of this getting though that little blue bonnet?” which is, of course, from Foghorn Leghorn when he’s trying to talk to Prissy.

  27. la niebla permalink
    May 17, 2010 9:33 pm

    love this post! i’m totally going to start saying “yes, have some,” when i’m interrupted while reading.

    when i can’t find something i’m looking for, from GB of course: “there is no [lost item], there is only Zool.”
    when i finally give up on something i shouldn’t have bothered with in the first place, from the cartoon robin hood, in that whiny voice, “i’ve got a dirty thumb.”

Leave a Reply

