Skip to content

My Heart Goes, “Stack Lack-a-Lack”*

May 3, 2010

stackin' up like ass cracks

Ever since I spied this Ikea Lack Side Table hack I’ve been obsessed with stacking those $8 slices of heaven on top of each other. “But they’re cheap and shakytown!” naysayers cry – from the legitimately concerned and concern trolling variety alike. Well here’s what I found when I wondered about this myself:

Yeah, this thing is probably a lot more steady than you think. It’s super cheap material, but the extra blocky legs give it surprising sturdiness.

I’ve got two extra Lack tables hanging around since we changed up the living room so that they don’t fit anymore, and I temporarily stuck them on top of each other in the dining room to keep them out of the way. They make a surprisingly good place to stack stuff without even being glued, so well stuck together they probably work well.

– from a thoughtful commenter at AT.

That seemed to silence the classist snobs who spend all day at work – when they’re probably supposed to be engaged in mid level publishing dronery – frantically refreshing apartment therapy for yet another showy loft furnished with “eclectic” and “unique” mid century modern furnishings.

Two LACK coffee tables. I don't have stuff to go on them!

I live in a rural state. I live in a “small space”. I am a freelancer, disco dancer. I am ADD and can’t put a piece of furniture down and leave there until it wears down the carpet. Thus my furnishing needs can’t involved heavy, substantial pieces, which declare to the world I’m not a horribly tacky person. I need stuff I can hoist around and possibly carry from room to room if I really become obsessed with it.

Moreover, what the hell are these people doing to/with their furniture requiring it to be steel belted and bullet proof? I mean I use my LACKS for books, a refreshing beverage or two and sometimes even my laptop. I’m not staging amateur wrestling matches in my living room or using them to store glass bricks. So you can get the fuck on up out of here with that foolishness. Note: I’m not talking about folks with kids. I have been a child myself and I have been the child sitting amongst a pile of sticks that once was an attractive shelving solution, wearing a towel tucked into the back of my pjs and a chagrined expression.

Wonder twin powers, ACTIVATE!!!

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t WANT my all furnishings to last forever. I’m not the girl for that level of decor commitment; so if something only lasts me – say – four or five years, I’m okay with it.

summer writing station.

Oddly enough I’ve had most of my “temporary” ikea furnishings for upwards of a decade! So boo on you.

Anyway, I should have been writing. I should have been crafting fiction, but instead I was stacking LACKS. I have seen the shelving solution issues it resolves and, baby, it is GOOD.

_______________________________________________________________
*To the tune of Bang Shang a Lang by The Archies.

Blogger’s note: I’m in the process of doing my spring cleaning thus the ugly lamp shades, disappointing choices in camera angles, half ass paint jobs and that raggedy towel on the kitchen floor.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 6:19 pm

    LOLOLOL this post deserves its own sitcom.

  2. May 3, 2010 6:20 pm

    Thank you!!!

  3. hsofia permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:06 pm

    “I have been a child myself and I have been the child sitting amongst a pile of sticks that once was an attractive shelving solution …”

    Heheeheheee.

  4. Hank permalink
    May 4, 2010 8:16 am

    I’ve been using the same stolen milk crates as a bookshelf for more than 13 years, so who am I to judge?

  5. May 4, 2010 8:37 am

    The yellow table in the bottom picture is one of my old closet doors on Ikea $4 legs.

  6. hsofia permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:30 am

    I’ve used painted doors as desk tops with file cabinets as the legs. My parents had friends who used a painted gigantic front door as a dining table, which is how I got the idea. The two Lack coffee tables in that bedroom look awesome. Unfortunately, we suffer a serious dearth of flat surfaces in our place. As a result, there is a ton of stuff on the floors. It is disturbing. I think we are basically short a tall bookcase, but it looks terrible.

  7. aliciamaud74 permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:49 am

    Strangling jealousy pangs over the robin’s egg/kiwi combo. LOVE.

    I painted the living/dining room those colors in my last apartment, and it cheered me endlessly. O, but my lunatic landlady hated it! But I had no remorse, given that the winter I spent in my reading chair right where blue met greet was one of only 2 in the last decade that SAD didn’t rule my February/March…

  8. May 4, 2010 11:26 am

    I’ve used painted doors as desk tops with file cabinets as the legs. My parents had friends who used a painted gigantic front door as a dining table, which is how I got the idea. The two Lack coffee tables in that bedroom look awesome. Unfortunately, we suffer a serious dearth of flat surfaces in our place. As a result, there is a ton of stuff on the floors. It is disturbing. I think we are basically short a tall bookcase, but it looks terrible

    It’s hard for you being on the west coast (earthquakes) and with a child. I am always worried about tipping things, so basically the set up I have here is something I could only have in VT. When I lived in LA I would have never done anything like this.

    Omg, since I basically don’t have any “stuff”. I am up to my LACKS in flat surfaces. I am so big on tossing stuff – and doing discardia. But if you saw the old pics of my place (entry entitled Discardia for the heart of ya) you’d see why I am kind of scared of stuff.

    AliciaMaud74 – OMG, it’s addicting. Those colors mixed together. My bedroom is this really intense appletini green and I almost can’t handle it, but it was great for winter since I needed something that dramatic. I’m debating repainting it something less dramatic.

    I’m addicted to the website House of Turquoise and it’s inspired a lot of my color obsession.

  9. Teaspoon permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:32 pm

    I adore that the Lacks are not all the same color in the top picture. They look like they don’t plan to ever move but seem to suggest that they could if they wanted to.

    Also, I consider furniture blocks for grownups, so this has inspired me to show my husband that we can, in fact, safely stack my two small dressers on top of his large chest of drawers and actually have room to fully open the bedroom door. It’d be awesome.

  10. IrishUp permalink
    May 4, 2010 2:41 pm

    1 IKEA white pine coffe & 2 end tables = $35 in 1994, and still going strong, surviving at least the 3rd round of children (not all mine) with superhero dreams.
    I already adored the colors on your walls, and THEN you had to add a tiger-striped rug! I wish I could do kule interwebs heart emoticons, the rest of this would be just them!

  11. hsofia permalink
    May 4, 2010 2:47 pm

    @SM – I saw your discardia posts when redlami posted a link recently in one of your posts. Wow! It is like night and day!! But I can tell it’s the same person’s house.

  12. May 4, 2010 5:16 pm

    1 IKEA white pine coffe & 2 end tables = $35 in 1994, and still going strong, surviving at least the 3rd round of children (not all mine) with superhero dreams.

    Seriously. Mine last and last. In fact the white one I found by the curb was probably at least five years old when I got it and six years later I finally put her out to pasture. Her demise had nothing to do with the construction, but some craft fail on my part.

    And thank you for the kind words about my space. I can’t spend a lot of scratch so I go for colorful and dormish and it makes me happy.

  13. May 5, 2010 10:38 am

    Moreover, what the hell are these people doing to/with their furniture requiring it to be steel belted and bullet proof?

    i declare children and/or pets. they require furniture much more sturdy than a non-parent of 2 or 4 legged creatures.

    but i’m totally going to try this in my distant future when my apt/house is not already crowded out of existence. i will stack me some LACKS!

  14. May 7, 2010 6:48 am

    Argh. It pains me so bad when people talk about Ikea’s prices. That eight dollar table costs $20 here, but I want to get stacking so badly.

    I’ll probably talk myself into making the kitchen island thingo, because even though I could buy one that’s meant to be one for about as much as it costs to make that one, the purpose built one wouldn’t be red.

  15. May 7, 2010 10:05 am

    @InfamousQ:

    Note: I’m not talking about folks with kids. I have been a child myself and I have been the child sitting amongst a pile of sticks that once was an attractive shelving solution, wearing a towel tucked into the back of my pjs and a chagrined expression.

  16. May 7, 2010 2:46 pm

    Argh. It pains me so bad when people talk about Ikea’s prices. That eight dollar table costs $20 here, but I want to get stacking so badly.

    I know what you mean. I saw someone from Germany I think, dishing the price on the Klippan sofa and it was something like 119 bucks for a model that goes for 299 stateside.

    I think Ikea does some really “funny” things with their pricing.

    Thanks so much for commenting.

Leave a Reply

