Skip to content

Never Too Much

April 13, 2010

I’m feeling like I need an 80s R&B slow jam day.

Give Me the Reason – Luther

  • I always forget this the theme to the film Ruthless People. What an odd choice.

Don’t Disturb This Groove

  • This never stops being amazing to me. Lest I run the risk of losing all my here and now cred, they don’t make shit like this anymore.

I Am Leaving You Again – New Edition – New Edition

  • When I was 13, this is what I believed was “sophisticated” music.

Two Occasions – The Deele feat. Babyface – Eyes of a Stranger

  • Leaving aside the fact they are dressed like Men in Black, which is actually quite painful to watch, this is still a jam nearly 25 years later. Or maybe I’m like those old people I knew when I was 13 who thought “Earth Angel” still sounded as fresh as the day it was released.

All Cried Out – Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam/feat. Full Force

  • Not. saying. a. word. about. that. Rambo. headband. I’ll see how long it takes for someone to bring up Lisa Lisa’s ample assets.

I Miss You – Klymaxx

  • I think the only “Behind the music” style show I’ve ever seen was a show about them! Oh Snap they had all kinds of chicken fried drama. I’m sure it was over some broken heart shit, but nobody told any tales! Still nobody gets that mad for just money alone. They weren’t just mad, there were hurt feelings too.

There’s Nothing Better Than Love – Luther with Gregory Hines

  • If this is the “de-gay’d” version of the video, I have got to know what changes were made. Cause, um, this is still kind of “good to his mama” if you know what I mean. Other than I love this song and they seem to really enjoy singing to each other. Damn, miss them both tremendously.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 7:13 am

    I’ll see how long it takes for someone to bring up Lisa Lisa’s ample assets.

    Was that her house? I thought it was just a location for the video.

    I always forget this the theme to the film Ruthless People. What an odd choice.

    It made for a good “happy ending” song, or at least an “everybody gets what they deserve” song. Gotta love the cheesy video effects.

  2. April 13, 2010 9:06 am

    I’m shocked there was no mention by you re: Men in Black.

  3. April 13, 2010 9:17 am

    I’m shocked there was no mention by you re: Men in Black.

    Well when you post eleventy seven items in a single entry, it’s tough to keep up in the comments. And I wanted really wanted to address Lisa Lisa’s “ample assets.”

  4. April 13, 2010 9:19 am

    @Redlami. Fair enough. Carry on.

  5. April 13, 2010 1:52 pm

    Carry on.

    That’s me, good as gold.

  6. IrishUp permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:25 pm

    I have little hearts floating out of my eyes b/c of the “Better Than Love” video.

    Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam played the end of the year concert at my Alma Mater. They were really damn good.

  7. April 13, 2010 7:10 pm

    I have little hearts floating out of my eyes b/c of the “Better Than Love” video.

    It’s so sweet. Seems like forever ago.

    Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam played the end of the year concert at my Alma Mater. They were really damn good.

    I really adore them. I think my favorite song by them is “Can You Feel the Beat?”.

  8. IrishUp permalink
    April 13, 2010 9:30 pm

    ‘I think my favorite song by them is “Can You Feel the Beat?”.’

    OOOOOOOOHHH DANG! Major fumble on my part that I do not have this on my iPod. I *do* have “I Wonder If I Take You Home” . Still delicious! That is totally one of those songs that really connects me to the IrishUp I was back then.

  9. April 14, 2010 12:18 am

    Was Luther gay or something? Some dude retweeted by that feminista09 chick was alluding to that.

  10. hsofia permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:28 am

    @Tasha – I think it’s generally assumed that he was. Even in my religiously conservative family, it was kind of a given, altho no one ever said it. Conversations about it would usually go like this: child asks: “Is Luther Vandross married?” followed by a pause and then an adult saying, “No.” And then another adult quickly interjecting, “Some people just never get married,” followed by someone else waxing on about some bubbly, uncle-type who never got married and was perfectly happy; he just never had that “feeling.”

  11. April 14, 2010 10:32 am

    @hsofia, the equiv of that convo in my family always ended with the statement, “…well you know, he’s real good to his mama.”

    And that would be that.

Leave a Reply

