Skip to content

The Peanut Butter Solution and Other Observations About This Weekend

April 11, 2010

when a cat sits on your head you need... The Peanut Butter Solution

The Peanut Butter Solution

  • If they are still making quirky kids films like Michael Rubbo’sThe Peanut Butter Solution I haven’t seen them. This adorable and inventive film not only has some of the first English language songs by Ms. Celine, but also has a cast comprised of the best non stinky child actors in the biz at the time.

Perfectionists get on my nerves

  • I realized why I am bothered by perfectionism. It has nothing to do with the behavior itself, which when isolated and kept away from humans would in fact be a nice quality. But the fact that often folks with this affliction are like giant luxury cruise ships, which can’t simply turn around when discovering they are speeding towards an iceberg. They have got to see everything to the bitter end. Moreover, since everything they do is “perfect” they can be real annoying and bitter when folks fail to acknowledge or love their efforts. Look, I like ice cubes, but I don’t really care if you can make yours both perfectly clear or without spilling any water as you make the trek from the sink to the freezer. Especially if you waste about thirty minutes doing so. while I’m waiting in your office to find out if I have a terminal illness or not. Nowadays my talisman to ward off perfectionists who would seek to suck up precious time – namely mine – with their fussiness – why do they always get offended when it’s called such – I quote DeNiro in Wag the Dog: “A good plan today is better than a perfect plan tomorrow.” and then I remind them if their goal is to impress me, wasting my time is not the way to do it. Yeah, I’m impatient, but at least it’s a quality you’ll discover about me fairly quickly. (<— that there was sarcasm. for the cheap seats)

Battlestar Galactic is for those who have a hard time empathizing with others

  • BSG does not leave its emotionality to chance and instead must beat its audience about the face and neck as it seeks to examine generic themes of loss and hopelessness. Any quality possessed by a character must be demonstrated to the point of overkill. Leaving someone like me no choice but to say, “Okay, I get it. So and so possesses such and such characteristic.” Characteristics ranging from : laziness, impatience, indecisiveness, rebelliousness, cowardice, treachery, predatory and so forth. Did we really need to meet Kimi? Sweet little Kimi on her slow boat to sucktown. I got long before Kimi’s arrival they were fucked like whoa. And just how many times did we need to hear, “Happy Christmas, the war is over we lost.” and why did we need to hear it at all? Oh yeah because finding out there were only 50k people left on CAPRICA – a planet that previously held eleventy billion folks – somehow didn’t flip any “aha” switches. And I get it too. This show is not FOR me. It speaks to groups I do belong to and that’s really fucking important. So even sometimes a nuanced soul like myself needs to be slapped upside the head with the point.

Julia Child hating Julie’s blog was my favorite part of that movie

  • I have no idea if the real person is anything like the character in the movie, but that character was probably the most annoying person on the planet. I had more sympathy for Joe McCarthy than I did for “Julie Powell” a selfish, untalented waste of atoms who felt annoyed by all those survivors of 911 who called her with their problems and interfered with her games of minesweeper and feeling sorry for herself because she was “unfulfilled”. Oh white chicks done got to give that trope a rest. Yeah, nobody’s fulfilled and just because you’re a boring person doesn’t mean we’re supposed to care. Not everyone gets to extraordinary. Also, I was glad that her partner was stuck with her. Men like that deserve women like her – petty, whiny and clueless. How are you gonna kick a mutherfucker out of a house HE FUCKING PAYS for? Well when you go for state sanctioned hotness well you get what you deserve and deserve a woman who gets to hear that her hero thinks she’s a waste of fucking skin. Why couldn’t the film just be about Julia who was way more interesting than that boring girl in Queens. Like what kind of cheek does it take to conflate your boring whiny privileged white girl life with JULIA CHILD’S? And Nora, no you did not deserve any award but a RAZZIE. You done already made this movie like 25 years ago called HEARTBURN. You’re not that great of a director. That’s why you don’t have any noms for your work. I am sick of white women thinking they deserve shit they haven’t earned. K-BIG earned her shit. Now go out and earn yours.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 5:45 pm

    Editor’s note: I’m allergic to peanut butter!

  2. hsofia permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:26 pm

    I agree – there only needed to be one Julia in that movie, Julia Child.

  3. April 11, 2010 7:54 pm

    YES. I literally HATED that Julie chick. Why did they have to include that crap? I was yelling at the screen for half that movie. Did you know that chick wrote a fucking book about her CHEATING on that guy?

    *Head Explodes*

  4. April 12, 2010 4:04 am

    @hsofia – every time the cut away from Streep and Tucci I was a little worse for wear. I wanted to know more about her life working for “the government”!

    @poplife – I didn’t know she wrote such a book, but somehow it does not surprise me. Now I feel better about not couching my critiques in faux niceties.

  5. April 12, 2010 1:15 pm

    I don’t know when I’ve seen a movie portray a lead character — that we’re apparently supposed to like — as so unappealing. The best part of the “Julie” sequences were her being butthurt at finding out that Julia Child hated her blog.

  6. eli permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:23 pm

    Yeah, her next book was about learning the art of butchery – and getting over the heartbreak of having her fuckbuddy break up with her, while still married to the husband.

    She even details a scene where she’s out with the fuckbuddy and canoodling in public, and a fan comes up and is like, “Oh, and this must be [husband’s name]!”

    And the FB pretends that he is!

    Seriously.

    Two key words for her: unlikeable and self-indulgent.

  7. April 13, 2010 10:42 pm

    I don’t know when I’ve seen a movie portray a lead character — that we’re apparently supposed to like — as so unappealing. The best part of the “Julie” sequences were her being butthurt at finding out that Julia Child hated her blog.

    That redeemed the film! I suppose it was used to activate empathy, but they don’t know Snarky that well.

    @eli –

    She even details a scene where she’s out with the fuckbuddy and canoodling in public, and a fan comes up and is like, “Oh, and this must be [husband’s name]!”

    Oh that’s just wrong. I threw up in my mouf a little.

Leave a Reply

