Skip to content

Snarky Ex Machina

April 5, 2010

Laura and Rob

  • Hue & Cry was kind of a poor man’s Tears for Fears, yet I have a such a soft spot for their music. It reminds me of riding the train from Mainz to Wiesbaden trapped next to someone who didn’t grasp the concept of personal space and usually smelled of fried onions.
  • De Palma a La Mod linked my post If You Can’t Say Anything Nice About DePalma Go Sit By My Mother and I was beyond tickled. While I would hardly consider BDeP an obscure interest, it’s not often I stumble on places framing me as a person who doesn’t talk about him enough. It was rather enjoyable. And all the LINKS. Wow, I found all sorts of goodies and maybe I will give Mission to Mars another look. I seem to remember several failed launch attempts, which usually resulted in me waking up with the DVD menu doing its hopeless loop thing.
  • I’m working on a post listing the best books for specific situations: i.e. keeping strangers from talking to you in laundromats and such. It’s been fun researching and organizing the list. I generally don’t spend that much time “researching” blog posts beyond simply verifying facts. But since I’m starting a new blogging gig in June (more on that in a sec) so it’s probably a good idea to get in the habit of doing that.
  • So yeah, I’m going to be guest blogging for eight weeks at BITCH Magazine and I am super duper excited about it. I am so thrilled to write for them again. I wrote “Black, Girl Interrupted” for the Ego/10th Anniversary Issue and that was actually my very FIRST paid publication credit. Man, didn’t I feel like THE HEAD SNARKY IN CHARGE OF SOME SHIT when folks at the Barnes & Noble wanted my autograph as I bought copies! That was really fun. Oh yeah, I Fry Mine in Butter – the pop culture blog I do with an incredible group of writers – seriously these folks know how to generate content like whoa – was added to Bitch Magazine’s Blogroll, which we’re also THRILLED about. Thanks, Bitch!
  • I’ve been watching episodes of The X-files and I forgot how much I enjoyed this show. My friend Ry and I have been watching them together and surprised at how many favorite episodes/least favorite episodes we have in common. We both LOVE Triangle and he loves it more since I pointed out all the De Palmalicious things about it. We both shudder at the mention of Red Museum! Then I said, “There’s this one episode I totally love but I don’t know why, it’s called -” and he said, “The Red and the Black, right?” He was exactly right. We’ve been friends for awhile, though we hadn’t really talked about the show before now. Thanks Netflix for bringing friends together!
  • I’ve been blazing through a collection of Erma Bombeck books a woman gave me! I was walking to my car and she was cleaning out her storage unit. She was about to take them to the library. Such a windfall. While I hate to spoil part of my book post, but I can pass along this tidbit. If you’re under 40 and not on vacation, Bombeck’s works make for perfect emotional scarecrows. It’s wonderful! Nobody bothered me at Starbucks when I sat outside reading I Lost Everything in the Prenatal War. I have to say, when I’m asked who are my influences or give my “elevator pitch”, I often tell them, ” Think Bombeck, Erika Lopez, Baldwin, Vonnegut and Richard Ford” which I think is probably a good description.
  • She also gave me a couple James Michener books. I went through a Michener phase about ten years ago and haven’t really picked anything up since then. It tends to be a prop I seek in times of great artistic peril to make me feel expansive and important. Look at me with my Archie Double Digest and TEXAS. That’s right, bitches, I came to kick ass some and sing campfire songs, except I’ll all out of wood. Or something like that. Anyway, I don’t think I’ll be hanging with James any time soon. That All The Pretty Horses/No Country for Old Brolins dude function in that role.
  • Currently reading – or I should say – rereading Independence Day by Richard Ford. It seems exactly the kind of book I shouldn’t like, yet it’s one of my favorites Though I almost never recommend to other people. Unlike most things I enjoy I don’t have sales pitch nor do I feel any inclination to develop one. That said, I’m fairly certain most people could enjoy it, if they open themselves up to the possibility – and by most people I mean folks who think themselves enlightened – a book with not much to say about their lived experiences could nevertheless be highly engaging.
  • People often conflate my ability to recommend just the right thing with having good taste. I don’t think I have “good taste” at all. That said, you can ask me for a recommendation for anything because I’m feeling in that mood. Seriously. Try me out. You’d be surprised. Unless your intention is to be unsatisfied – so that would be about you rather than me – you probably won’t be.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 1:11 pm

    Congratulations on the Bitch gig!

    Your interest in DePalma as being one of the first things that made me realized I had to get to know you better. I’m not nearly as devoted but he’s one of those directors whose movies I’ll watch without hearing anything about them because I know even the dogs will be fun. And sexy violent / violent sexy.

    I’ve always thought of Michener books as things you carry in your backpack when riding the subway. If you don’t have access to a lead pipe. Maybe I should give them another chance.

  2. hsofia permalink
    April 5, 2010 3:27 pm

    How do you do it all?! Congratulations getting the gig with Bitch, and yes, X-Files was so good. I am especially fond of the first two seasons.

  3. April 5, 2010 3:32 pm

    Eh I guess I can say this now that he’s dead. Michener’s a teeny, weeny bit overrated.

  4. April 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    @hsofia – girl, cause I’m cra cra! I don’t know how I do it at all. It’s ridiculous. Moreover, I’m not exactly sure why!

  5. hsofia permalink
    April 5, 2010 7:12 pm

    LOL. I had to google “cra cra” – all this time I was pronouncing it “cra(ft) cra(ft)” only to discover it’s “cra(y) “cra(y).” No wonder my rapper brother refers to me as “quaint.”

  6. Joanne permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:41 pm

    I went through a Mitchener phase about 15 years ago which started with The Source and ended (abruptly) with not being able to finish Hawaii as my tastes suddenly changed and I couldn’t stomach him any more.

    But I read voraciously as a kid – it stood me in good stead when I ran the information desk at a chain bookstore.

    Congratulations on guest blogging at Bitch… about the only thing I miss about working at a bookstore was reading loads of magazines – opening my eyes to the fact magazines like that existed. I haven’t done enough magazine reading in years.

  7. April 5, 2010 9:17 pm

    yay for the X Files watching 😀 I got my best friend into to it, too. She liked the last few seasons more than I did, her fandom had just started and was still going strong. Mine was waning.

    There were some really funny ones like Jose Chung. I also really liked the cancer arc ones, like Memento Mori 😦

    I can’t remember the name of the ep that pic is from but it’s the one where they pretend to be a married couple, right?

    Such a great show.

  8. April 5, 2010 9:55 pm

    yay for the X Files watching I got my best friend into to it, too. She liked the last few seasons more than I did, her fandom had just started and was still going strong. Mine was waning.

    Yeah, after about season 7 I had moved on.

    There were some really funny ones like Jose Chung. I also really liked the cancer arc ones, like Memento Mori

    I love Jose Chung, Small Potatoes, Bad Blood, Chinga. Have you seen this?

    I can’t remember the name of the ep that pic is from but it’s the one where they pretend to be a married couple, right?

    Such a great show.

    Season 7 – Arcadia. It’s hilarious! I had never actually seen this episode before. I laughed so much. They were so cute together. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. April 5, 2010 9:57 pm

    I went through a Mitchener phase about 15 years ago which started with The Source and ended (abruptly) with not being able to finish Hawaii as my tastes suddenly changed and I couldn’t stomach him any more.

    Ha. I totally know that feeling. It felt like it happened mid sentence. How awkward for Mischener.

    Congratulations on guest blogging at Bitch… about the only thing I miss about working at a bookstore was reading loads of magazines – opening my eyes to the fact magazines like that existed. I haven’t done enough magazine reading in years.

    Thank you! I hope to see there when I start up. Thanks for the great comment and welcome!

  10. April 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    LOL. I had to google “cra cra” – all this time I was pronouncing it “cra(ft) cra(ft)” only to discover it’s “cra(y) “cra(y).” No wonder my rapper brother refers to me as “quaint.”

    Ha! When I first started using it for months my LJ friends thought it was “craw craw” and were just trying to “go with it”.

Trackbacks

  1. What Semi-Busy People Do All Day (Pt 2) « Snarky's Machine

Leave a Reply

