Skip to content

Weekly Streisandicure: Funny Girl

April 3, 2010

Omar Sharif and Babs in Funny Girl

BABS FLICK: Funny Girl
Starring: Omar Sharif, Babs
Nail Color:
Pure Ice’s Scandal

“Hello, Gorgeous.” goes Babs’s first line and mine when I cracked opened the bottle of Scandal. I am forever on the hunt for the purple eggplant creme that’s not too purple or too brown and Scandal’s the Country Time of nail colors. Not too tart and not too sweet. I’ve tried expensive, cheap and everything in between. Who knew the exact color I sought could be had for $2.50!

My celebration was short lived as I was soon distracted by my fascination of Babs as an ingenue. Oh that word gets tossed about like pillows at a slumber party, but every once in awhile it’s applicable. And who doesn’t want to root for the proverbial diamond in the rough? I certainly did. Fanny Brice’s story has never been a particular fascination of mine, despite having many of the key elements I find interesting. I have never really understood this, but since I am up to my ass in things I find fascination I’m not going to worry about this too much.

Roger Ebert had this to say:

That makes the movie itself kind of schizo. It is impossible to praise Miss Streisand too highly; hard to find much to praise about the rest of the film. She turns out, curiously enough, to be a born movie star. It was her voice that made her famous, and that’s fair enough. But it will be her face and her really splendid comic ability that make her a star. She has the best timing since Mae West, and is more fun to watch than anyone since the young Katharine Hepburn.

I tried really hard to resist framing the film through Ebert’s lens, but simply found his critique irresistible. Just like Babs as Fanny Brice. Just like the two coats of glossy eggplant creme taking center stage, pushing past the prettier, the better bred and the more stylish to take its rightful place as one of my faves.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 10:33 am

    How could you review this movie and not say anything about the gorgeosity that is Omar Sharif? I mean, I know he’s just scenery. But what scenery!

    But I agree, she’s just absolutely magnetizing in every movie she’s been in, even the clunkers (I’m looking at you, Yentl).

  2. April 3, 2010 1:38 pm

    I love the weekly Streisandicures!

  3. April 4, 2010 11:31 am

    @redlami – She’s so great in this damn film. It’s funny seeing young Babs before she became all divalicious and self important.

Leave a Reply

