Skip to content

Weekly Streisandicure: Nuts

March 20, 2010

Streisand Flick: Nuts
Nail Polish: Nars Zulu

It is always a bad sign when a movie has more than one screenwriter. It tends to yield the sort of “lots of bakers and jacked up pastries” results which often make for excellent drinking games. Now throw a lead actors rumored to be perfectionists and you’ve got the 1987 dead-on-arrival flick NUTS. Based on the play of the same name, Babs stumbles through this mess as a call girl – wait, how come it’s call girl when you’re rich and hooker when you’re not – who kills somebody in self defense and the family drama it provokes. All kinds of deep buried resentments rise to the surface of this film like dead fish.

It might just be me, but I’m pretty sure there is more to portraying mental illness than dangling tongues, mismatch outfits and speech where everything is stated as a question.

Leaving aside the horror that is its depiction of mental illness, I must say this by far might be the best Streisandicure I’ve ever given myself. So bad was the film, I was left with no choice but to dedicate my energies to ensuring that this dark green nail polish did not migrate to my cuticles.

And to be sure can be complications. The first rule of doing one’s own nails should be DO NOT DRINK LIQUIDS BEFOREHAND, which I generally I tend to break. Thanks to the intentional camp and dedication to my nails I was able to hold it until a lick of my thumb indicated the polish was dry and my fingers were ready to get back in the game.

Long story short: this thing is the triple hat of fail – bad script, acting and direction. In addition to everything else that went wrong and most painful of all, were her incredibly disappointing nails. Mine, however, look fantastic.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 3:12 pm

    It takes a lot to get me to sit through any movie that features Dreyfuss — as in, directed by Lucas or Spielberg — so this definitely sounds like a no-go. Glad the nails turned out well!

  2. March 20, 2010 5:53 pm

    Yeah, this dog would not hunt.

  3. hsofia permalink
    March 20, 2010 7:02 pm

    Heaven bless you, SM, for enduring that film so that hopefully anyone who has the sense to google a review of this before watching it, doesn’t have to.

  4. March 21, 2010 12:36 am

    hsofia – I take my tagline quite seriously 🙂

Leave a Reply

