Skip to content

S1x01: Gone for Goode

March 18, 2010

AIR DATE: 1/31/1993
DIRECTED BY: Barry Levinson
WRITTEN BY: Paul Attanasio
CAST: Daniel Baldwin, Ned Beatty, Melissa Leo, Andre Braugher, Kyle Secor, Yaphet Kotto, Clark Johnson, Richard Belzer, Jon Polito

If I’m not mistaken, the first episode aired right after the Superbowl. And I’m sure that’s the highest their ratings ever went. Oh, I will not be posting spoilers and for the first couple of episodes I want to get a feel for this thing. I am striving for a 300 word limit. Nice cold opening with Crosetti (Polito) and Lewis (Johnson). It is much better than I remember. I haven’t watched the pilot in probably a good seven or eight years. I usually just skip to the second episode and I never watch the last episode of the final season. So far, I am feeling very overwhelmed by those first glimpses of Bayliss (Secor) walking into the squad room for the first time – fresh from his stint on the Mayor’s detail. H:LOTS takes place in Baltimore and much of it was shot in Fell’s Point. I’m thinking I’m going go to light on the links because in addition to the word limit, I’m imposing a time limit, as well. Probably five minutes or a little more than the time it takes me to actually type it out. Anyway, this show – even from the pilot – has energy. Nice pacing too. The other thing we’ll be doing is Anyawatch, tracking Anya Epstein’s career from its humble script girl genesis to powerhouse showrunner she has become (Commander in Chief). Anya doesn’t actually begin her tenure until season three where she is first credited as Tom Fontana’s assistant. So basically the only thing going on is meeting the cast and setting up the ADENA WATSON arc, which lasts the entire run of the show.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 10:41 pm

    If I’m not mistaken, this is going to end up being a great resource for H:LoTS fans. Nice opening yourself, setting up the ground rules and format and a few tantalizing background details. I’m glad I didn’t skip your pilot, and plan on being around until the last episode.

  2. March 19, 2010 12:25 am

    I feel like I’m doing bad color commentary at a suburban mall fashion show. Really, until we get to season three, it’s mostly providing exposition, historical context and a few fun facts.

  3. March 19, 2010 7:36 am

    “Tantalizing background details” = fun facts with feathers on.

  4. March 19, 2010 11:56 am

    One down, 124 to go!

  5. March 19, 2010 12:11 pm

    srsly.

  6. March 26, 2010 1:26 am

    I made fun of my husband for the first two years we were together because his favorite show of all time is H:LotS.

    And then I lost a bet, and watched the entire series with him over two or three months.

    It’s now my favorite show of all time, and there’s a special place in my heart for Tim Bayliss. Awww.

    Thank you for these reviews! I’ll look forward to each one.

  7. March 26, 2010 1:47 am

    Thank you, Goatygoat. It’s pretty addicting stuff, eh!

Leave a Reply

