Skip to content

Nearer My God to Gee

March 15, 2010

Yaphet Kotto as Lt. Al Gee Giardello

In the blizzard of writing groups round robins, mediating reading group smackdowns, blog start ups and slew of freelancing project I have almost forgotten that Christopher Walken and I have a birthday coming up on 31st. Well Ewan and Al Gore do too, but I’m cheesed at Ewan for doing a Polanski film and being wishy washy when asked about it and Al and I have grown apart of late. The fact he doesn’t know of my existence might have something to do with it.

I’m going to be almost old enough to start ordering folks off my non existent lawn and saying, “I’m too old for this shit.” in my best Roger Murtaugh.

Anyway in anticipation of my birthday – well let’s be honest, the best present ever Homicide: Life on the Street – I’m scheduling in some downtime. Like a serious vacation. No work, no debating Moore Vs. Connery and no worker bee skirts/slacks/shirts! It’s gonna be all H:LOTS all the time until the bitter and foul tasting made-for-TV movie craptastic send off!

Since I’ve watch the 122 episodes – plus fuzzy VHS copy of the movie – in linear order, backwards and even have rolled the dice to see which season to start with and go from there, I’m struggling to come up with a suitable way to revisit my favorite fictional group “Murder Police”. In any case, I’ll figure out something.

In the meantime here are favorite whatevers (eps, moments, bits of cheeky dialog)

1. “Nearer My God to Thee” Season 3 Episode 1

The season three opener begins the first batch of cast shakeups. NBC wanted to jettison all the “ugly” cast members and the show runners wanted to dispatch with all the cast divas. Turns out it’s the same person! So buh-bye Jon Polito’s Crosetti and hello (nurse) Isabella Hoffman’s Megan Russert. Yes, she’s related to that Russert. Cousins in fact. For the most part everyone else is back and they’re tackling with a Red Ball requiring a whole mess of banter and some stellar guest stars including Tony “Candyman” Todd as an obnoxious reporter of Rivera proportions. What I love most about this episode is the use of a Red Ball to give all the new or revamped characters something useful to do. Instead of standing around, awkwardly like a junior high girl waiting for someone to ask her to dance. Even if you don’t like the new characters – and there were many on H:LOTS I never liked – the producers definitely knew how to put them into the action, be it by story arc or shoehorn.

Lt. Al “Gee” Giardello rimshot: Misty Pearl? Isn’t that the woman from Hee Haw who always wore the hats with the price tags attached?

2. “Fire: Part 2” Season 4 Episode 2

Another new season, another batch of old favorites kicked to the curb and another cheeky bastard joins the cast. Mike Kellerman officially joins the squad and ushers in the golden age of the show in the form of his partnership with Meldrick Lewis (Clark Johnson). The chemistry is immediate and delightful as the two steal a car Pembleton left parked and running in front of the building (budget cuts and limited vehicles).

Kellerman: You know, he shouldn’t leave a department vehicle running like that.
Lewis: Yeah. Could get stolen.
Kellerman: Lieutenant said take the first car in.
Lewis: We shouldn’t.
Kellerman: You’re right.
Lewis: Grand theft auto, baby.
Pembleton: You sons of bitches!

Lt. Al “Gee” Giardello rimshot: Kellerman, we do not wear jeans in my squadroom. Pants, trousers, Nino Cerutti if you’re feeling fabulous.

3. Kellerman might want some more hugs.

Kellerman: I just want you to know that I’m here for you. if you want a hug, I’d be happy to give you one.
Bayliss: A hug?
Kellerman: Yeah.
Bayliss: Do you and Lewis hug?
Kellerman: Yeah.
Bayliss: A lot?
Kellerman: No, not a lot.
Bayliss: But enough.
Kellerman: What do you mean?
Bayliss: Well, do you want Lewis to hug you more?
Kellerman: Forget I brought this up.

4. Logan, Pembleton and John Waters

5. EMMA ZOOLE!!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 8:28 am

    Friends don’t let friends have casket sex.

  2. March 15, 2010 8:35 am

    True dat!

  3. March 15, 2010 5:38 pm

    Oh yes, Yaphet Koto! I think my fave Koto rave is as Lt. Alonzo Mosley in Midnight Run. You wanna talk about snarky, the man OOOOOOOOOZZZZZZES it in that movie. Plus, he out wits DeNiro. Man, now I need to rent it again.

  4. March 15, 2010 5:42 pm

    Special Agent Foster Grant!

  5. hsofia permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:43 pm

    That show was the best show ever to air on broadcast television. I worked in an office over 100 workers, and apparently only two of us even knew it existed. It is some kind of miracle that it lasted for so long!

  6. Claire permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:56 pm

    I’ll always love Homicide both on its own merits and because I used to watch it with my dad when I was an 11 year old with insomnia and he was hazy on concepts like ‘bedtime’ and ‘age appropriate’ viewing.

  7. March 15, 2010 8:35 pm

    @Claire, one question: Lifetime, WGN or Court TV?

  8. March 15, 2010 8:42 pm

    hsofia – ha! That was like me at my hippie college. This one crusty awesome punk gal was the only person who was totally into it and we’d process the episode under the cover of darkness.

  9. Claire permalink
    March 16, 2010 4:04 am

    snarkysmachine- none of the above. It was TV2, 11.05 pm in New Zealand.

    I still can’t help referring to any actor I saw first on Homicide by their full H:LOTS name. As in “oh wow, Assistant District Attorney Ed Danvers is on True Blood now!”

  10. March 16, 2010 4:08 am

    Ahhhh! Ed Danvers is like EVERYWHERE. He was on “24”, “Damages” and a couple of episodes of L&O. He is really the hardest working actor whose name is tricky to pronounce.

    Hahah. Tim Bayliss was married to the president on “Commander in Chief”. That made me giggle. And Pembleton was House’s shrink on House.

  11. March 16, 2010 5:47 pm

    We need a thread to compare and contrast the crossover eps with L&O-Original Flavor. Just saying.

  12. hsofia permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:16 am

    Ed Danvers must be totally loaded; he is sooo busy. He was also in Oz and even popped up in an episode of Lost! His character’s last scene in Damages literally made me cry. (yes, literally, tears fell out of my eyes and rolled onto my cheeks)

  13. March 17, 2010 2:48 am

    @hsofia – ME TOO.

Leave a Reply

