Skip to content

Welcome to My World

February 26, 2010

Throughout my elementary school years I sang in chorus. Most of the time – like a fine cut of meat – I was selected by the chorus director based on nothing more than an assumptive belief based on factors beyond my control: blackness and chubbiness. This would eventually lead to disappointment and suggestions to pantomime the words. In sixth grade, again I was plucked out a room filled with eager hands, despite my hand not flapping in the air like a tattered flag and staring out the window. Maybe the director – whose name escapes me – thought I was simply playing hard to get.

Because it was a children’s chorus the selections were often bland or country flavored or showtunes devoid of everything which made them showy. Our interpretation of “Taking to the Streets” sound like a funeral dirge. “Thank God I’m a Country Boy” strained under the weight of our ill advised and excessive yea-hawing. And then there was “Welcome to My World”, a song that still manages to lodge its way into my brain and overstay its welcome.

I don’t remember the song as it was written or as we performed it. No, I remember it the way we practiced it, with the director banging the tinny piano and shouting reminders at us.

Welcome to my world
Won’t you come on in

“Who’s saying CHEW? It’s WON’T YOU!!!”

Miracles I guess
Still happen now and then

“Sops and Als are coming in FLAT”

Step into my heart
Leave your cares behind

“CARES NOT CARDS!”

Welcome to my world
Built with you in mind

“BUILT with YOU in mind, not with HUMAN Minds!!!”

Then came the prompts

Knock and the door will open

“Knock, people!”

Seek and you will find

“Pick up the pace, people!”

Ask and you’ll be given
The key to this heart of mine

“Robbie, I can hear you saying fart. Cut it out!”

I’ll be waiting here

“It’s HERE, not THERE.”

With my arms unfurled

“More unfurling!”

Waiting just for you
Welcome to my world

“Again, people again!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 10:12 am

    In fifth grade (I think) I had a music teacher named Mr. Torregrossa who had a penchant for martial tunes. I still remember him leading us with “Stout-hearted Men” which, naturally being ten year old boys, some of us parodied as “Stout-hearted Dicks.”

  2. February 26, 2010 12:02 pm

    Black + chubby must necessarily equal singer?

    What’s next, skinny glasses-wearing Asian must be math geek? Oh wait. A good friend was actually pushed through an Engineering degree for pretty much that reason as far as I can tell. He’s so much happier now that he’s a professional musician.

    you’d think people trained in, ya know, pedagogy, would be interested in assessing individual students’ talents adn interests….
    /obvious

  3. February 26, 2010 1:18 pm

    TIO – I can’t cook either!

Leave a Reply

