Skip to content

It’s So Hard to be a Saint in the City

February 18, 2010

Bruce

It’s that kind of day around the Death Star. The kind when it starts with Greetings From Asbury Park and quickly results with me standing in the living room belting out “Tenth Avenue Freezeout” into a trash bound bottle of White Rain hairspray. Here are my favorite songs by the Boss.

Tenth Avenue Freezeout – Born to Run

When I am stalled or unmotivated to write, I imagine myself sitting in a dark theater watching the closing credits of my bio-pic, which involves grainy karaoke footage of me shutting “Tenth Avenue Freezeout” down.

Hungry Heart – The River

I was young when I first heard this jam, and would sing it in the shower and felt I understood the pain of taking a ride and never going back. Well, as best as a Huxtable possibly could. Though sometimes I liked singing, “Everybody’s got a hungry horse!”

Glory Days – Born in the USA

Yes, fist pumpers are heavily represented in my list of Bruce faves. But seriously, it’s the video – specifically Lil Stevie – that made me love the song. Man, Miss Patti is putting the hurt on those tams!

Dancing in the Dark – Born in the USA

Look, sometimes a girl – even a black girl – has got to get her Molly Ringwald on! And if there is a better song for this, well I haven’t heard it yet. Even Bruce and Courtney get their Molly Ringwald on!

* It’s Hard to be a Saint in the City – Greetings From Asbury Park

This is a Boss penned song, but Bowie KILLED it. This is how you cover a song.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 12:25 pm

    My mama is a huge Bruce fan and her name is Mary, so Thunder Road was always a big favorite around our house. Call me a dorky fan, but when he gets to “Show a little faith! there’s magic in the night, You ain’t a beauty but hey you’re alright…” I always have to sing along.

  2. February 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    I remember when the NJ legislature was considering making Born to Run the official state song, there was a comedian (Robert Wuhl?) who deconstructed the concept… he suggested that the state flag could be a picture of a guy getting the bones ripped from his back. But certainly “suicide trap” fits the state profile.

    Thunder Road has always been one of my favorite shower songs.

  3. February 18, 2010 9:06 pm

    I love, love, love the way The Boss’s voice squeaks at the end of the lyric, “From a tenement window a transistor blares”. And belting out “Thunder Road” makes for an excellent pick-me-up. I have Born to Run on vinyl and it’s excellent listening that way.

  4. February 19, 2010 4:38 am

    “When I am stalled or unmotivated to write, I imagine myself sitting in a dark theater watching the closing credits of my bio-pic, which involves grainy karaoke footage of me shutting “Tenth Avenue Freezeout” down.”

    I thought I was the only one who did this.

  5. February 19, 2010 3:10 pm

    I was expecting the keilbalsa picture!

    via: http://fuckyeahtheboss.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

