Skip to content

Great Scott!

February 1, 2010

The Brothers Scott

I am under strict order to be FAIR to both brothers Scott. Yeah, we’ll see how well that works out.

In the red corner…

Ridley Scott
nickname: “Blood Runner” for his Kubrickian obsession with pointless multiple takes.

Notable Works

– The Duallists (WIN)
– Alien (WIN)
– Blade Runner (WIN WIN WIN)
– Legend (FAIL FAIL FAIL)
– Someone to Watch Over Me (FAIL)
-Thelma and Louise (WIN)
– Black Rain (FAIL)
– G.I. Jane (WIN)
– Gladiator (WIN)
– Hannibal (FAIL)
– Black Hawk Down (WIN)
– Matchstick Men (WIN)
– Body of Lies (WTF)
-American Gangster (WIN WIN WIN WIN)

________________________________

In the white corner…

Tony Scott

Notable Works

The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3 (MEH)
Déjà Vu (MEH)
Domino (MEH)
Man on Fire (FAIL)
Spy Game (WIN WIN WIN WIN)
Enemy of the State (WIN INFINITY)
The Fan (FAIL FAIL FAIL)
Crimson Tide (WIN)
True Romance (WIN LIKE WHOA)
The Last Boy Scout (FAIL)
Beverly Hills Cop II (FAIL)
Top Gun (WIN)
The Hunger (WIN)

Clearly both brothers are providing good, solid entertainment value for your dollar, with Tony slightly ahead in this regard. And, I do believe Ridley would be providing more if he wasn’t spending quite so much time chewing on the gristle that is Blade Runner. Man, give it a rest. There is rather double distressing news on the remake front. Both brothers seem to be involved with the Untitled Alien Prequel and Tony – I don’t even believe what I’m hearing – is sniffing around The Warriors.

I have to sit down for a minute. I cannot believe I have lived to see the day where I am typing the words remake of The Warriors. Where’s my flying car? because I figured that shit was way, way, way in the future. Long after my 104th birthday.

Quiz Time: Which brother.

1. “Yeah, Cameron passed and so did Robert Zemeckis. We better ask ____ Scott.” (R or T)
2. “Look, Why don’t you and Denzel take some time apart to figure out where things went wrong.” (R or T)
3. “Either you do it or I’m calling Michael Bay!” (R or T)
4. “Either you do it or I’m calling Ron Howard!” (R or T)

I promised La Mommie this fight would be fair. I have weighed the evidence. I have thought it through, but at the end of the day I have to stay true to my heart. And at my heart, I’m a Tony Scott girl. I am girl who needs a lot of spinning crane shots, cute boys being chased by veteran actors and lots of things blown to bits as plot forwarding devices. Still, I like that they collaborate, though oddly enough I don’t recall having ever watched any such collaboration. I was turned off of Numb3rs because it seems there’s a lot of romantic chow chow that has very little do with solving crimes by math. Twenty years of watching Law & Order has trained me NOT to care about what happens to faux cops once they leave the squad room.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 10:49 am

    On the plus side for Ridley, I think his obsession with Blade Runner is responsible for keeping Rutger Hauer relevant and working.

  2. February 1, 2010 12:20 pm

    Is that Rutger Hauer?

  3. February 1, 2010 2:51 pm

    The one who isn’t Harrison Ford showing us his bewildered expression, yes.

  4. hsofia permalink
    February 1, 2010 6:53 pm

    I have to go with the guy who made Blade Runner. Plus, I own three Ridley films and zero Tony films.

Leave a Reply

