Skip to content

Does This Gospel Choir Make Me Look Phat?

January 26, 2010

Two things are guaranteed to make me love a song:

1. Talking in the middle. Preferably someone begging for someone to come back or defending themselves against cheating.

2. A GOSPEL CHOIR!!!

In absence of these two, having some forgotten vocal bad ass belting the chorus or fade out helps too.

Dusty bringing her ‘A’ game to the court on “What Have I Done to Deserve This?”

I’ll be honest, I wore this cassingle out. Mostly by fast forwarding to the chorus and fade out. I still get chills when she belts We don’t have to fall apart; we don’t have to fight… at the end.

Miss Jennifer “And I’m Am Telling You I’m Not Going” Holliday and the Jersey Mass Choir showing Lou Graham and Co how it’s done on “I Wanna Know What Love Is”.

This is a totally by the numbers wannabe Dianne Warren type song until the Ms. Holliday and the choir shows up and sings that pitiful chorus. When Jennifer sings, Let’s talk about love… your head starts swaying and it feels like you’re having some church all up in your shithole apartment.

Madonna evoking Mavis Staples with “Like A Prayer”

There’s not much to like about the video. I’m pretty sure in the dictionary next to “problematic” there’s a stub for this video. That said, The gospel choir fade out is pretty bad ass – minus Madonna dancing in her lingerie at church and being faith healed. But if you don’t have a great voice, it’s nice to give the rest of us a break and let someone else tackle the trickier notes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 8:14 am

    This is my favorite “talking in the middle” song. Then one day the rains came, and washed all the crops away…

  2. January 26, 2010 10:00 am

    My poppa was a great old maaaaaaaaan!

  3. January 28, 2010 3:02 am

    Holy shite! I love that PSB song and I had no idea that was Dusty in there. Watching that made my night.

Leave a Reply

