Skip to content

Gas Station in Hell: The Musical

January 22, 2010

This post could also be titled Trapped in the back back of mom’s station wagon circa 1983.

Like or not, these are the songs I have come to associate with my childhood.

“While You See a Chance” – Steve Winwood

I associate this song with staring at tumbleweeds chasing our car as we shook off our one stoplight town for another trek into Yucca Valley for our weekly trip to the grocery store.

“What a Fool Believes” – The Doobie Brothers

When I whined about having to hear this song yet again La Mommie told me never to speak ill of Soul Music. I then asked if this was soul music then how come I couldn’t like dance to it. No ice cream for me that day. My sister was content to make her doll Sally dance, thus demonstrating I backed the wrong dog in the fight. While Sally’s twin Silly (yes, Silly and Sally) had her head attached to her foot and was thereby living up to her name again. I picture James Lipton asking, “Tell me about Silly.” and me breaking into a cold sweat.

“Steal Away” – by Robbie Dupree

Ahh, this is a childhood favorite. It wasn’t until many decades later while listening to Love Songs with Delilah did I actually learn the artist performing this sweet ditty. This is one of my first hairbrush-in-the-bathroom songs.

“Lead Me On” – by Maxine Nightingale

Okay, I still sing this into my hairbrush and have finally perfected my pensive-Hallmark-card-couple stare.

“I Love the Nightlife” – by Alicia Bridges

Didn’t we all think she was saying “I want to ask Sean”? But that was all cleared up for me while riding in the car with my Nana, who said, “Ack-shun! Okay, Miss Alicia” and turned up the volume. It would be years later before I discovered that Ms. Bridges – like another Alicia, namely Pink – was not black! Nobody tells me anything around here!

“The Biggest Part of Me” – by Ambrosia

“Baby Come Back” – Player

As an adult, I would finally be able to sort out the Ambrosia/Player conflation, but as a child they were one continuous soft rock nightmare from which I could not awake. That said, these songs – that are inextricably linked in my psyche – are two of my favorite songs, with “Baby Come Back” made slightly more fabulous by that nasty bass line.

“Guilty” – Babs and Barrylicious

It seemed like every morning on the drive to Kiddie Kampus I heard this song. I used to sneak my mom’s copy of Guilty and play it on my Fisher-Price player over and over. She got wise when she discovered I had accidentally replaced the record with the Lady and the Tramp LP. Though she was probably tipped off by not hearing “He’s a tramp!” sung in a shaky child’s voice for hours on end.

“More Love” – by Kim Carnes

Now Smokey might have originated this song, but Kim pwned it. This totally reminds me of La Mommie taking tight turns with that big ass Pontiac wagon, throwing her head back, singing with Kim and insisting we do the same.

“Midnight at the Oasis” – Maria Muldaur

Yeah, me plus belting out saucy lyrics equals The Talk. They needn’t bother as this song produced a confusing tingly feeling, which is of course why I sang it all the time.

“Never Too Much” – by Luther

I totally saved the best for last. Total Pontiac singalong. We’d swap versus while my sister didno no fingers to the never too much, never too much, never too much part.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 9:35 am

    The Babs number makes me want to see Funny Girl and Capricorn One.

  2. January 22, 2010 4:26 pm

    I think she’s hiding Brolin under that shirt. I can see his shoulders.

  3. January 23, 2010 9:09 am

    I would pay to see Alicia sing a duet with Woody Harrelson.

Leave a Reply

