Skip to content

Brolin Vs. Douglas

January 19, 2010

The Douglas Family

Kirk Douglas – actor, writer
Michael Douglas – actor, producer

Notable works – Douglas
• Kirk: The Ragman’s Son (autobiography), Paths of Glory, Spartacus, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Home Movies (1980), Tough Guys

• Michael: The Streets of San Francisco, One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (producer), Coma, Romancing the Stone, Wall Street, Fatal Attraction, Wonder Boys, Traffic, Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps

Awards – Douglas
Kirk: nominated three times for Academy Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role, Honorary Academy Award in 1996.

Michael – as producer: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest -Academy Award for Best Picture, Golden Globe Award for Best Motion Picture – Drama, as actor: Wall Street Academy Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role, Golden Globe Award for Best Actor – Motion Picture Drama

The Brolin Family

James Brolin actor
Josh Brolin actor

Notable works – Brolin
• James: Marcus Welby, MD, Capricorn One, Amityville Horror, Hotel, Traffic, Catch Me if You Can, Last Chance Harvey

• Josh: The Goonies, In the Valley of Eli, No Country for Old Men, W., American Gangsta, Milk, Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps

Awards – Brolin
James: Marcus Welby, M.D. Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor – Drama Series, Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actor – Series, Miniseries or Television Film

Josh: A bunch of nods for his work in Milk and a few other things.

Hotness: Brolins win this category hands fucking down.

Screen Presence: The Ragman and his son can really hold a camera’s attention in a way the pretty boy Brolins simply aren’t able to do. Josh is getting there, but not quite yet. There just aren’t enough junky beards to distract from Josh’s hotness. Trust me, he’s done the legwork.

Body of Work: Douglas family hands down. For Paths of Glory and Wall Street alone. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Hotel and Cappy One. This should change if a rematch takes place within the next few years as Baby Brolin is phenomenal and is doing some spectacular work.

That said, I’ve gotta give this one to the Brolins. I love both families, but at the end of the day, and after reviewing Baby Douglas and Big Brolin’s pivotal scene in Traffic… “Sit down and write two letters.” I am loving the subtle performance of Big Brolin. The Douglas family, while generally made of awesome, just really haven’t met a scene they didn’t chew to powder.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 3:53 pm

    I agree that honorary awards just don’t cut it… it’s Hollywood’s way of saying “we never thought you were that good but you hung around long enough without pissing too many people off, so here’s your statue.” A real Emmy beats a fake Oscar.

  2. January 19, 2010 3:57 pm

    This was much more difficult than I originally anticipated. I went into this assuming the Douglas family was the clear cut winner. Imagine my surprise! I really like what James Brolin is doing these days, and I guess I really underestimated how much I liked Hotel.

  3. January 19, 2010 4:01 pm

    This was fun! I look forward to future installments.

  4. January 19, 2010 4:03 pm

    The Douglases are Muppets; the Brolins are Supermarionation. Thunderbirds are go.

  5. Cassie permalink
    January 19, 2010 7:01 pm

    But but… you didn’t mention Young Riders! Which I’m sure I’d hate now but by golly I loved it when I was 11

  6. hsofia permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:11 pm

    Younger Brolin was very good in “W.” In the first ten minutes I was thinking, “This guy doesn’t look anything like George W. Bush!” But by the last frame, I was like, “Wow.” He really captured him. There are times when I think of W and Brolin’s portrayal comes to mind.

    @Cassie – hehe, Young Riders! I loved that show. We were a Nielsen family back then and I totally lied on the machine to try to up the ratings.

Leave a Reply

