Skip to content

Dianne Steinberg Is Engraved On My Heart

January 16, 2010

The 1978 Robert Stigwood film Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band first introduced me the to goddess Dianne Steinberg, who blew me away with her killer voice and general fabulousness.

There is really very little reason to watch this film besides Steinberg’s cheeky rendition of “You Never Give Me Your Money”, “She’s So Heavy” and of course, her wildly polarizing interpretation of “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”, unless you’re super interested in watching to cinematic equivalent of a 30 car pile up.

Her first appearance is so intergalactic. Standing next to an ostentatious white limo in a glorious white suit (sans shirt), chauffeur’s cap, fierce make up and a bling bling bow tie, she owns that scene. Actually, pretty much all the visuals in this scene are cool. Right down to her character making out with Frampton atop a giant spinning record shaped bed.

Here’s Dianne singing “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” backed by Stargard playing the Diamonds to her Lucy. Her version of this song knocks me out. I love it so much, and apparently am in the minority on this one.

I remember practicing the song and the dance moves when I was eleven. Fashioning sheets to my arms and wearing a leotard and tap shoes, I clickity clacked my way around the living room singing about the girl with kaleidoscope eyes.

At this point I feel compelled to mention that while being a fairly big fan of The Beatles, I am not a fan of them singing their own works. With the exception of George, I find their vocals tinny and reminiscent of mating feral cats. Now their work as solo artists, my opinion differs quite considerably. Double Fantasy, Somewhere in England, Goodnight Vienna and McCartney by John, George, Ringo and Paul/Wings (respectively) are some of my favorite albums, mostly because it seems like Clapton and Bowie, their voices got better with age, or perhaps I became more tolerant of them.

Anyway, back to Ms. Steinberg.

I loved her look during the Sgt Pepper era and to this day there are influences in my own style. The hair, the lipgloss, the flawless face with more of an emphasis on eye and lip. It’s all there and it’s all good.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 1:31 pm

    Is it true the boys’ outfits in this scene were shiny silver because that was better at masking the drool stains? Seriously, my only complaint in this scene is the cutaways to them stupidly ogling her.

  2. January 16, 2010 11:18 pm

    I love her too.

  3. Dianne Steinberg (a.k.a. Diane Steinberg Lewis) permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:18 pm

    Snarky! I cannot believe that this is the first time I have ever seen this posting. You have “too muched” me today and I am loving it!! 🙂 There is a SGT PEPPER Facebook page that you may find interesting. I’d love to see how you do “Lucy”. It’s amazing the reaction to this movie so many years later…
    All my love to you, Snarky, redlami and Shannon! Be blessed my loves!
    Di

  4. Dianne Steinberg (a.k.a. Diane Steinberg Lewis) permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:21 pm

    Peter Frampton is opening up for the Steve Miller Band near Detroit this weekend at Pine Knob. The lead guitarist for Miller is my husband, Kenny Lee Lewis.

  5. June 30, 2010 11:38 pm

    Ms. Steinberg Lewis, it is indeed an honor to have your presence on this blog. You are tops! Gorgeous voice and wonderful presence. I love ya!!!

  6. evmaroon permalink
    June 30, 2010 11:39 pm

    As I am near Detroit this weekend, I may now have to cancel other, way more boring plans and go to see him. Thanks for the tour date information, Ms. Steinberg Lewis Awesomeness!

  7. June 30, 2010 11:45 pm

    I’m sorry, but I’m like totally freaking out and wearing sheets on my arms in honor of all this amazingness!

  8. July 1, 2010 12:13 pm

    It’s true, she is the best part of that movie (and I love watching those cars pile up!). I might have to hitch a ride to Detroit this weekend…..

  9. July 2, 2010 8:22 am

    Seriously, Raymond J! She shuts the whole thing down!

  10. Terrance Tucker permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:49 am

    Hi Sharky,

    You are NOT the minority in loving Dianne Steinberg/Stargard’s version of “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds” as I loved this number. Thanks to “Sgt. Pepper”, I became of fan of Dianne Steinberg, Stargard, The Beatles and practically everyone involved. Blame it on my older siblings who got me hooked, lol! Great post, btw!

  11. amy permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:15 pm

    I love the whole movie, one of my favs. dianne and paul nicolas( loved him in tommy as well) are the best part of that movie.i don’t want to make anyone mad, but elton john’s(my man)lucy is better than the beatles, and then i heard dianne singing it and was just blown away. now i have two fav.versions.glad to see she’s doing fine and i’m sure just as beautiful.I thought dianne and paul were very sexy together. I bet he was a good kisser.(ok getting carried away ha)

  12. Profreader permalink
    January 13, 2011 2:52 pm

    I just found this posting today, a year later: I’m yet another person who was blown away by Ms. Steinberg’s performance in the movie (I’m old enough to have seen it multiple times when it came out.) I was completely obsessed by the staging and visuals of this song when I was a kid — the billboard coming to life was magical. The movie overall is crazy but yet hypnotic and impossible to forget. I heard this version first, then the Beatles, Elton John, and many others; I think it stands alone in how well it translates the song to an R&B/funk feel. I also can’t believe Ms. Steinberg actually posted here at one point.

  13. February 12, 2011 6:01 pm

    I agree with you Profreader I’m 40 years old now and my wife is 36 she just watched Sgt.P’s with me for the first time the other night, and I probably annoyed the heck out of her because I knew just about all the songs and most of the dialogue from seeing this awesome film at least a thousand times in the past 20+ years! I loved everything about it!!!! I’ve never been a Beatles fan but ever since I saw this movie I’ve been a huge Bee Gee’s fan And it’s my opinion that the Bee Gee’s and all of the other groups way outdid the Beatles on all of the songs in this classic flick!!!! One of my favs is the FVB Aerosmith song LOVED IT ALL

  14. Lorie permalink
    March 11, 2012 10:10 pm

    I just found this too, two years later! Well, they just added Sgt Pepper’s to Netflix streaming so I had to watch it again (for the umpteenth time). I loved this as a little kid and still do. I agree, Dianne was HOT! She was so sexy, perfection! I am glad to see there are some folks out there who enjoy this movie too – it’s fun, people, get over yourselves critics! PS I liked her “Lucy” too! Love it when a cover tune takes a wildly different direction.

  15. December 30, 2012 1:07 pm

    I remember you playing Harbor old panel on Christmas Back when I was married to Sandy Kenny’s sister
    I have been talking to Rick lately he found me on FacebookP

  16. January 10, 2015 1:40 pm

    Just saw this today. I am Dianne’s husband and I have been in the Steve Miller Band for over 34 years. Many of you never got a chance to hear her play keyboards. She is an absolute pro and can hang with any rhythm section as well as being a background singer. I can tell you that Diane (Dianne) is just as radiant, beautiful, and talented as she was back then 37 years ago! We play together in various bands and she always causes havoc and palpitations in a young man’s heart! Love you Lucy!

Leave a Reply

