Skip to content

Death Like Symptoms

December 22, 2009


1. Finished reading Percival Everett’s hilarious examination of race and class I Am Not Sidney Poitier. Everett is always on point, pitch perfect and inspiring. I can’t recommend this enough.

2. I am completely addicted to Leverage. Almost makes me forget about the unbearable lightness of Ordinary White People. Little Timmy’s all grown up!

3. Stumbled upon the old The X-Files journal I used to keep. Opened to a random page and was greeted by a frothing rant detailing the tediousness of the rather benign episode entitled Talitha Cumi. Not sure what that was about. Must have been a slow news day.

4. I am so grateful to be done with holiday shopping.

5. Oh man this song from Wet Wet Wet takes me all the way to the back back. This song perfectly encapsulates my teen years in Europe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 11:23 am

    OK, 1) “the unbearable lightness of Ordinary White People” made me lol. And here, I shamefully admit that that was my FAVORITE EVER book and (to a lesser extent) movie when I was a teenager. In my defense, I was, in fact, living the unbearable lightness of Ordinary White People in an affluent Chicago suburb very much like that one, and deeply convinced it was all 1,000 times more onerous than it was, and Conrad Jarrett was one of my all-time great fictional character crushes so… wait, I’m not sure any of that actually counts as a defense.

    2) Speaking of my teenage years, Wet Wet Fucking Wet, man. My friend Paige and I went to see Elton John in 1988, solely because they were opening for him. They had not even made a dent in the U.S. market (not that they ever really did, except for That One Song), but we thought we were total badasses because we read Smash Hits and thus co-opted UK top 40 instead of listening to pathetic old U.S. top 40, AND Paige bought their first album on our school trip to France that summer, so we were EXTRA BADASS for seeking it out in Actual Europe. It was the first concert I was allowed to attend without supervision, because my parents were like, “Elton John? Seriously? OK.” So Paige and I spend two weeks deciding what to wear and getting frothing-at-the-mouth excited, and then we get there, and WWW starts playing, and… instantly, the entire crowd behind us is like, “STFU! YOU SUCK! BRING ON ELTON!”

    Philistines.

    So yeah, that song took me back.

    3) How did I not know you spent teen years in Europe?

    4) I am also obsessed with Leverage, which is 50% your fault and 50% Sarah’s. We need to get FJ and other SM on it, so it can become the Official Heist Show of Shapely Prose, although Hustle is a close second.

  2. December 22, 2009 12:49 pm

    1) Ha! No defense required. In my early teens I would rent this and The Big Chill and felt all grown up and sophisticated. Had a HUGE crush on Sutherland, which probably about 50% of why I watched it repeatedly.

    2) Oh my gosh. I never run into people who have even heard of Wet Wet Wet, much less have seen them in concert! I was totally all about them and all those other 80s Europop bands like: Curiosity Killed the Cat, Hue and Cry and The Beautiful South.

    3)Here’s a comedic take on some of my European adventures.

    4) I’m going to watch Hustle. I can’t believe I haven’t seen this. Andre Braugher is on it! What kind of Braugher fan am I?

  3. redlami permalink*
    December 22, 2009 1:21 pm

    The only band in that list I’ve ever heard of is Beautiful South, and I don’t know where I first heard about them (or their precursor, the Housemartins) but I always liked the very snarky tone of some of the songs.

    I’m eagerly awaiting the return of Leverage. I just wish they’d get rid of the romantic subplot. There is simply no believable chemistry between Nathan Ford and Sophie Deveraux, in my opinion.

  4. December 22, 2009 11:09 pm

    Oops, my bad. Hustle is the British show and Thief is the American heist show featuring Andre Braugher. Neither of which seem to be available on Hulu or Netflix instant view 😦

Leave a Reply

