Skip to content

Virgins in Outerspace

December 7, 2009

Sir Hugo Drax Richard Branson is a step closer to implementing his diabolical plan realizing a long time dream of space tourism.

SpaceShipTwo, built from lightweight composite materials and powered by a hybrid rocket motor, is similar to its prototype cousin with three exceptions. It’s twice as large, measuring 60 feet long with a roomy cabin about the size of a Falcon 900 executive jet. It also has more windows including overhead portholes. While SpaceShipOne was designed for three people, SpaceShipTwo can carry six passengers and two pilots.

By SpaceShipTwo clearly he means Moonraker Five right? Illusions to Moonraker aside, this is a progress? I have no desire to travel to outerspace; I barely want to board a La Bamba plane for the brief – albeit shaky – hop to Albany.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. redlami permalink*
    December 7, 2009 3:07 pm

    The big problem I see with space tourism is the same as Gertrude Stein’s problem with Oakland: there’s no there there.

    I think I’d like to experience weightlessness, but I don’t think there’s room yet in this design for privacy cabins to allow for the widest variety of options here.

  2. December 7, 2009 3:20 pm

    Yeah, until they get a Starbucks and an Office Depot, I’m not going.

  3. Charlie permalink
    December 7, 2009 3:31 pm

    You’re obsessed! But yes, Branson does have that Drax quality.

    I am one of these short sighted people that is terrified of going into space. Something I picked up funnily enough watching Moonraker and Superman 2 at a tender and sensitive age. If I was to pay big money to go into space, I’d want to go into space abd actually- go somewhere. A bit like redlami said. I think you can get the weightless feeling just going to a fair ground and being flung round in a circle at high speed. I want to actually go somewhere.

    But then, I’m short sighted!

  4. December 7, 2009 3:56 pm

    I am a total space stuff nerd, so this news makes me a) extremely giddy, and b) surprisingly snobby. I mean, it’s just low earth orbit! Haha, okay, I admit it – I am moonshot snob. Seriously, it is pretty intense, but yeah, I don’t think I’d want to go up in a rocket. I wouldn’t go up on the shuttle, and wow, I can’t even imagine what it would have been like to be on the end of a Saturn V during Apollo.

    Anyway, this just goes to show the important contributions evil masterminds and evil scientists make to our successes in space.

  5. December 7, 2009 5:19 pm

    Apparently one’s head feels like a bowling ball for the first few days back on earth…
    In other worlds, business as usual for Dick Branson.

    Most people think lift-off is terrible and it probably is—I think being sat on by a sumo wrestler while on the worst, vertigo-inducing roller coaster would approximate it. However, returning to the earth’s atmosphere is apparently much worse, at least according to account I just heard…

    Considering I can’t take a long haul Greyhound bus ride, I don’t think I’m suited for space travel.

  6. December 7, 2009 5:32 pm

    Ain’t no way I’m getting into a space hooptie. If I want the experience mentioned by The Shark Guy, I’ll take my chances in a Buick Regal.

Leave a Reply

