Skip to content

Every Time You Go Away

November 25, 2009

The poignant last scene from a turkey day classic from Planes, Trains and Automobiles If you haven’t seen this film, duh, this video contains SPOILERS. This scene always gets me teary and makes me pause to reflect on the moments of kindness afforded me by relative strangers.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. redlami permalink*
    November 26, 2009 7:44 am

    Big AWWWWWWWWW.

  2. November 26, 2009 12:10 pm

    The little girl shrieking “Daddy” was my “little” sister in high school! She was also on The Torkelsons

  3. November 26, 2009 2:32 pm

    Excellent stuff…

    Unfortunately the last time I saw Steve Martin was in the icky Shopgirl—he was playing Claire Danes’ love interest and they’re a whopping 35 years apart.

    Naturally, he wrote and produced the thing.

    It was that along with Darjeeling Limited and Marie Antoinette that for me, solidified Jason Schwartzman’s reputation as one of the most irritating and crappy actors in Hollywood (my theory is because he’s related to Nic Cage)

  4. November 26, 2009 2:59 pm

    Hahah Shopgirl. Great novella, but nobody told Martin that Danes wasn’t the “it” girl anymore and in fact people ran from movies with her mentioned as a cast member.

    Well I read the book with the idea that Steve Martin was going to play the lead and only wrote the damn thing for himself, which was fine, but he needed some other kind of actress. Like Nia Long or someone else who possesses both youthful beauty and gravitas.

  5. redlami permalink*
    November 26, 2009 5:57 pm

    Yeah it’s icky anytime the guy’s more than, say, 15 years older.

  6. redlami permalink*
    November 26, 2009 5:57 pm

    I imagine you’re a great person to know for the Kevin Bacon game.

  7. redlami permalink*
    November 26, 2009 5:58 pm

    He was taking his lead from Woody Allen?

  8. November 27, 2009 12:32 pm

    Figures, it’s a John Hughes film.

    I started to get tear at the trunk scene but it really came home when “every time you go away…” was playing in the background and John Candy caressed his hat and you know he’s thinking about his wife as Steve hugs his.

    I love John Candy. I wish he was still around making great movies.

  9. November 27, 2009 2:04 pm

    I imagine you’re a great person to know for the Kevin Bacon game.

    I am! Pretty much everyone can be connected to Bacon either through Sleepers or JFK. I think I’m like only two degree away depending on the movie.

  10. November 27, 2009 2:17 pm

    Hmmm…

    I was an extra in STRANGE DAYS which starred Angela Bassett who was in WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH IT with Laurence Fishburne who was in QUICKSILVER with Kevin Bacon. (Mystic River works here as well)

    I know there’s a shorter connection using Alexis Arquette, maybe LAST EXIT TO BROOKLYN or PULP FICTION or going through Marilyn Kagen (since embarrassingly enough I was once a guest on her show).

Leave a Reply

