Skip to content

Any kind of fool can see…

November 13, 2009

Can someone explain the point of wearing concert shirts of shows you didn’t attend? I have several concert shirts and actually attended these events. Rapidly becoming my most loathed fashion pet peeve, are these the same pointless people who show slides of other people’s vacations at holiday parties?

When I see an eighteen year rocking a PLAYER 1978 WORLD TOUR shirt I’m like c’mon now. While I definitely understand the need to give props to soft rock’s favorite son, but really…

Do you really need to advertise the fact:

A) you badly want friends who like the same kind of music as you.
B) that you do all your clothing shopping at Spencer’s?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Arwen permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:43 am

    There’s a total influx of Pink Floyd t-shirts in my area. I keep wondering if it’s genuine fandom or a fashion choice.

  2. November 13, 2009 2:54 am

    I might be willing to soften if they’re sporting a “Division Bell” tee, if only for lol points.

  3. redlami permalink*
    November 13, 2009 8:18 am

    I think it’s a way of saying “I may not be cool, but at least my parents were.”

  4. November 13, 2009 12:21 pm

    My sister has one of my mama’s old Bruce and the E Street Band concert tees that she wears. But she didn’t buy that shit at Target. I feel ya on this one.

  5. November 14, 2009 2:49 am

    lols

    Honestly, I don’t understand the need to wear t-shirts advertising that you like a certain band/went to a concert at all, whether it was yesterday or 20 years before you were born.

  6. November 14, 2009 10:41 am

    Completely agree. I also want to point out the fashion choice of wearing HD rally shirts when you didn’t attend – used to drive me nuts.

  7. November 16, 2009 2:40 pm

    *embarrassed, crosses arms to hide EMERSON LAKE & PALMER 1974 WORLD TOUR T-shirt*

  8. November 16, 2009 2:56 pm

    Omg. I think you get an exemption. EL&P is made of awesome. Too bad they never considered putting their concept albums on ice a la Rick Wakeman.

  9. November 16, 2009 3:27 pm

    As you know I am (not so secretly) waiting for the inevitable prog rock revival. It is coming!

Leave a Reply

