Skip to content

Nanowrimo: Day One

November 1, 2009

Nabokov's index cards. On the first day of Nanowrimo I am excited beyond words. Never mind, I write daily and, Nanowrimo only adds more writing to my plate. I organized my materials, brewed a pot of coffee, put on some music and opened an empty Word file.

Then I sat there for a moment. I debated setting the timer for sixty minutes, but decided getting up from the desk would break nonexistent momentum. I go into Nanowrimo cold. I can’t tell if this is a good strategy or not. I stared at the blank screen for a couple of minutes, while taking careful sips of coffee and then I wrote:

Agnes Marcy walked into my bookstore wearing an unbuttoned denim coat over an impossible amount of layers.

Then I wrote for nearly an hour and a half and when it was over, I had 3061 words.

I sent it to my partner and he read it aloud over the phone. As I listened to him read (he’s an excellent reader) I jotted down notes about plot, characters and the places where he LOL’d.

Breaking out the grid rule 3X5 index cards I arranged my notes and sipped my now cold coffee. I resisted the temptation to use planning/organizing as a means of procrastination, I arranged the index card in plot point and then set them aside.

I am off to a great start.

Word Count = 3061/50,000

2 Comments leave one →
  1. redlami permalink*
    November 1, 2009 5:44 pm

    One great piece of your advice I plan on using is to end in the middle of a scene, so that you have a place to start the next day. Though it was a little disappointing when the piece I was reading ended… right in the middle of a scene!

    Oh cool I just realized those aren’t your index cards, they’re Nabokov’s! Now the tag makes sense.

  2. November 1, 2009 5:51 pm

    I might post my own at some point. They were written for service and not for style 😦

    I really enjoyed your piece and I like how detailed and realistic the voice sounds. It’s so great that you have discovered your voice so quickly!

Leave a Reply

