Skip to content

Guest Post: NaNoWriMo day one, too

November 1, 2009
tags:
by

Unlike our hostess, this is my first time doing NaNoWriMo. And also unlike our hostess, I’m not a writer. So I was a little nervous about starting today, especially since other than being somewhat autobiographical I didn’t know where I was going to start. I went to sleep last night (early, thanks to the sugar coma) hoping the muse would show up on time, and that I would recognize her.

I was pleased that not only did a dream give me a decent angle, but that a phrase presented itself while I was waking up (I am suddenly a believer in dream diaries). So here’s how I began:

Dread is like an old friend. Not the kind who helps you jump start your car, but the kind who shows up unannounced and uninvited late at night looking for a party, for company, for adventure just as you were settling down to watch an old episode of Murphy Brown with your last pair of store-brand brown sugar cinnamon pop tarts and an iced glass of the coffee you’d ground and brewed earlier that day.

I’ve already learned a lot. I’ve learned I can do this. And that I like long, winding, “not sure where they’re going, so enjoy the ride” sentences. And I still tend to edit a bit, but at least I managed to keep it to wording changes in the last sentence or two.

I wrote for about an hour and half, took a few breaks, and wrote a bit more, ending up with 2886 words.  But the best part? Getting to chat with Snarky about it afterwards. What a great way to feel closer to my partner.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 6:13 pm

    I like the idea of keeping a dream journal. I don’t always keep up with mine, but I’m going to during Nanowrimo.

    I am so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

