Skip to content

Design Lust: Golden Slumbers

November 2, 2010

While doing my daily perusal of my favorite design related blogs – in this case Decor8 – I found the gorgeous bedroom. Right now I’m in the mood to revamp my bedroom because I rarely use it and I’m trying to move back into the bedroom. When I stay with my partner I sleep in a bedroom with a real bed, nightstands and all that jazz. It’s a novel experience for me and one I’d eagerly like to recreate at my own place.

What attracted me to this bedroom was its use of color, scale and pattern. I also loved how it approximated the dimensions of my own bedroom, which is rectangular and has many furniture placement challenges. The narrow walls house the closet and the window (opposite the closet) and placing the bed on either long wall chops up the bedroom.

my bedroom

Paint

It seems I can’t avoid it; I’m gonna have to repaint these green walls. I’m leaning towards Behr’s Empress Teal, which will slide effortlessly over the existing green and I won’t have to prime the walls. Two coats should give me everything I need in terms of coverage and richness. In addition, with the paucity of natural light in the bedroom, from a design standpoint it’s better to work with its cave-like properties. Now the color in the inspiration room is more of a blueish gray, which is sexy and probably works better with the light blue furnishings/accessories I have, but I already own like two gallons of Empress Teal and it’s on the walls in other rooms in the house.

Lighting

Currently, the bedroom has no overhead lighting, which is really a pain. I included the chandelier because a friend of mine has one like that (in brass) that she wants to gift me and even willing to spray paint it whatever color I desire. I’m on the fence because I’m not a fan of having anything over my head. Thank you, Northridge Earthquake. The inspiration room also features lamps that I think are cute, but I’d rather use my knockoff Kartell “Bourgie” Lamps instead. Since the inspiration photo only shows one side of the room, I had to figure additional lighting solutions. probably a couple of lamps on my vanity, which at this point is most likely going to be the Parsons desk featured in my “before” photo. I’m also going to snag some styling lamp shades for the pair of teal stick lamps I scored from TJMaxx – they were black, but I painted them tealish/aqua – for a dollar each!

Furniture

The tufted headboard is the moneyshot, and thanks to Mad Men is currently new hotness. I’m inclined to engage in a little craft fail because I’m not about to drop a bunch of cashmoney on a headboard. I priced materials and I can definitely do this project much cheaper than the article I linked. Reclaimed wood scraps, clearance lawn recliner cushion and specialty upholstery fabric discards – my favorite local fabric store has the most amazing “unclaimed/unwanted special order” section, boasting 75%. That said, while I’ll be the materials bargain hunter, most likely I’ll let someone else help me out with all the heavy lifting/tufting. Or, you know stumble upon one for less than $200 bucks! That would freaking rule. But I’m not holding my breath!

The nightstands are definitely going to be my beloved Ikea Lack side tables with two at the foot of the bed and one on either side. The inspiration photo has cute ones, but I don’t like a lot of clutter on my nightstand. I tend to keep only essentials on the nightstand: beverage, journal, alarm clock. I already have a mirror for the vanity and a stool I want to use. I’m also going to move my existing tufted butterfly chair, which is actually teal and not pink into the bedroom, or get another one in either pink or some kind of animal print.

Bedding/Textiles

That Chevron rug is shutting the inspiration room down. I love that pattern, but damn these rugs are super expensive. I tend to see them used in lot of designs by Jonathan Adler whose design aesthetic, particularly the use of color, I adore. I am sure I can find something in my price range or apparently I can make one or use my cute zebra print rug instead, which is also ivory/brown. I love that faux fur blanket, which I don’t have in gray, but I know Kmart always does a really good faux fur throw quite cheaply. Ditto for the curtains. And the throw pillows will probably be snagged from Christmas Tree shop.

Prognosis

Very good! The project doesn’t require a lot of capital and will definitely keep me busy as the weather gets shitty and my mood plummets because of it. I’m very excited about the project. My bedroom has never been been sexy or one that I’ve eager to use, so I’m definitely going to give this project all the care and thoughtfulness it deserves.

So what do y’all think? What projects are you working on? Tips?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 2:59 pm

    This sounds fabulous. I really admire your ability to take a basic design and customize it to your own style, needs, materials and budget!

  2. Lani permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:34 pm

    Oh man, Northridge! I haven’t heard that referenced in forever. I grew up (mostly) in CA, so I hear you on not wanting the chandelier above your head (even the paintings on the wall above the bed in the picture make me feel a little ehhh…). Is it possible to put it somewhere in the bedroom that’s not above the bed, a little off to the side or something? Not having overhead lighting would really bug me too, but it also could be that the ceiling isn’t wired properly for an overhead light, which might make it a REAL pain to get something hung up there.

  3. November 3, 2010 7:28 pm

    (even the paintings on the wall above the bed in the picture make me feel a little ehhh…).

    That’s definitely not going into my design either!!! I’m afraid of anything above my head.

  4. November 7, 2010 10:11 pm

    I dare say your zebra print might actually tie in with the furry throw even better than the zigzag!

    I look forward to having a house someday and being able to paint. Presently it’s apartment living and white walls everywhere. Bold curtains are my friend.

  5. blackgirlinmaine permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:57 pm

    I really like that green you have but I love really crazy bright colors much to my hubby’s irritation. I once painted a bedroom a cross between red and pink, it was way too dark.

    Anyway I am about to change up the rooms on the first floor of my house to accommodate my father moving in with us, so I need to change rooms so that we don’t get on each others nerves. I will be painting the living room and sitting/playroom and switching the rooms around. It sounds like an easy task but the living room has textured wallpaper that just is not coming off so I have decided to paint over it. I am hoping it turns out well since we are shooting to make the living room the kid’s playroom/my office space since I am giving my Dad my office.

    I like your ideas, I think living in the part of the country that we live in you have to jazz up your house this time of year to keep the blahs back.

  6. November 9, 2010 2:24 pm

    I painted over textured wallpaper. It required three good coats of primer. It came out really well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

