Skip to content

Link Round Up

November 12, 2009

Links to stuff I read and enjoyed today.

1. Gudbuytjane‘s blog entries are smart, funny and have been a tremendous breath of fresh air. I’ve known her for a long time, and have been dazzled by her writing and very intimidated by her talent for YEARS.

2. Kate Harding‘s look at the new hair aspiration of the moment. The comments worked my last nerve, but the article is on point and I don’t need to tell you that it’s worth a read.

3. Roger Ebert‘s poignant thoughts on “Hoop Dreams” fifteen years later. I remember reading the original review before the internet was well…the internet and kept a copy in my bag for months as an example of the kind of pop culture writing I aspired to.

4. Cupcakes Take the Cake is a daily read of mine and I adore this entry in particular.

5. Young, Fat and Fabulous is a daily stop for fat girl fashion inspiration and all the yummy fashion pictures. Gabi’s rocking a gorgeous black fun fur vest today!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. crookedfinger permalink
    November 14, 2009 2:52 am

    Have you read Cake Wrecks? (http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/) It’s like FailBlog + cakes. Fantastic.

  2. Becky permalink
    November 14, 2009 6:00 pm

    You know what I find hilarious about the hair aspiration article? I’ve had Blake Lively hair my whole life. Not blonde, but long, thick, and just wavy enough to look messy all the time. And for most of my life, the word for that hair was not “aspirational” but “unkempt”, and these same kind of articles told me that to have acceptable hair I needed to spend time and money straightening it, or coaxing it into perfect ringlets (ha). And now women are supposed to spend $1200 a month to have the hair I’ve been taught to despise for most of my life? The beauty industry is such a fucking scam.

    (I found your blog from SP and am super psyched to have you blogging there).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

